Announcing Jane Yolen

BULLETIN: TOMORROW I’LL POST THE JANUARY WINNERS!

BULLETIN: TOMORROW I’LL GIVE YOU THE WORD OF THE MONTH CHALLENGE FOR FEBRUARY.

To Laura Robb my sincere thanks for yesterday’s guest article. Laura, I always learn from you.

Today I’m pleased to announce that Jane Yolen will be a featured guest on March 12. At the bottom of this post I’ve listed other exciting guests who are already scheduled to appear.

As we come down to the wire on voting for January’s Hall of Fame Poets, the race is exciting. If you haven’t read all the poems yet, click on the line just above each ballot box and that takes you to them. Leaders going into the last day are: Steven Withrow, Gay Fawcett, and Delane Parrott for adults and Rachel Heinrichs, John Sullivan , and Sam Shekut for students. Previous Monthly Hall of Fame Poets Liz Korba and Mimi Cross continue their strong showing. Other poets are close behind and will appreciate all the support they can get.

I’m pleased to tell you that over the first four months of Word of the Month Poetry Challenge our poets have come to us from the following states and beyond: Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Virginia, England, and Philippines. If I have missed anyone, please let me know.

If your state isn’t represented, I’d love to post a poem from you in February. I can’t track the origin of all the comments but I’m sure it would add many other states and areas if I knew them. My thanks to all.

Please remember that tonight the voting poles cut off at midnight CST. Voting has been brisk and fun to watch. Now is the time to pull out all the stops. Poets, if you haven’t asked your support team to pitch in, do it now. Students, have you asked your classmates, friends, and families to vote for you? Let’s see some action!

Here’s an update on upcoming blog guests. Laura Purdie Salas (2/5), Lee Bennett Hopkins (2/12), Tim Rasinski (2/19), Laura Backes (2/26), June Rae Wood (3/5), Jane Yolen (3/12), and Dan Burr (3/19). I hope you won’t miss a one of these great guests!
David

Leave a Reply

