Poem of the Week – Mystery Lunch

by David L. Harrison from The Mouse Was Out At Recess

TODAY IS INTERNATIONAL TALK LIKE A PIRATE DAY!!!!

ANOTHER DAY AT SEA
by David L Harrison
from PIRATES
Boyds Mills Press

Another day like yesterday
Starin’ out ta sea,
Another day without no riches
Wearin’ out me only britches
Bored as I can be.

Another day of hard-tack bread,
Another turtle soup,
Another day without no fight,
Another stinkin’ sleepless night
And still no treasure sloop!

Cap’n says we’ll all be rich!
A pirate’s life for me!
But here I sit another day –
Another day without no pay –
Another day at sea.

Our friend Jane Heitman Healy is celebrating on her blog and is nice enough to mention my book of poems about pirates called (what else?) PIRATES. Thank you Jane.

For everyone who wants to learn more, here’s the link to Jane’s place.
http://readlearnandbehappy.blogspot.com/2010/09/happy-international-talk-like-pirate.html  Arrrrr!

Jane Heitman Healy

Check out my blog at http://www.readlearnandbehappy.blogspot.com/

Go back? No good at all! Go sideways? Impossible! Go forward? The only thing to do! On we go!
~Bilbo Baggins

9 comments on “Poem of the Week – Mystery Lunch

  1. All right ye land lubbers, scallywags and poppets! Cap’n Harrison be nice enough ta ask me, One-Leg Sterling to stop by this ‘ere blog on International Talk Like A Pirate Day. If’n you’ve a hankerin’ to learn about a real pirate pick up a copy of me book Pirate Haiku: Bilge Sucking Poem of Booty, Grog and Wenches for Scurvy Sea Dogs. Remember it’s rated PG-13 and you can find it http://www.piratehaiku.com. Stop by, vote for you’re all time favorite pirate, write and post yer own haiku and many other fun activities. See ye there, or it’s off to Davy Jones’ Locker for ye!

    • Hey Michael,

      I’m glad you came by and brought your crew of cutthroats and scallywags with you. As cap’n of this blog, I command me readers to commit a shameless haiku to fatten yer coffers or they’ll answer to me, aye.

      David

    • Hi Jane,

      It’s a fun day all around. Good weather (here), good friends (everywhere), and plenty of humor. What more can one ask?

      David

    • Hi Silindile,

      I can remember in grade school trading apples and cookies and such. Some thngs were pretty hard to get rid of.

      As for that fellow Jack Sparrow, he’s a mighty fine actor.

      David

      • First year of school my sister was still at primary school with me but had 2 years left, she carried my lunch money for me…. I hated school, cried every single morning and had to be dragged all the way to school by an adult or I wasn’t going, got there much later…. Back to the money, my sister used to buy me these straws filled with suger and some flavoured powder, that’s all I ate. Years later when I wised up I confronted her and the whole house laughed at me, its still a family joke we visit every now and then.

    • Hi BJ,

      Thanks. I go back in memory to a time at school when we had no cafeteria and all kids brought their own lunches. That was when the trading became brisk.

      David

Leave a Reply

