Article about teen books

votesm2If you are interested in writing books for teens and tweens, especially books for girls, there’s an article in the current issue of The New Yorker (October 19) that you’ll find interesting. This well written piece by Rebecca Mead introduces the reader to Alloy Entertainment, which produces books and creates other properties for the preteen and teen-age market.What I found helpful was the the description of all the editorial brainstorming that each idea must survive as it makes its way from suggestion to finished product. It struck me that Alloy has several people involved doing what an individual writer must also do. The trick for us, when evaluating a new idea, is to be as critical, focused, and unbiased as the whole team in an organiation like Alloy.It is far more sensible to weigh a new idea, find it lacking, and discard or revise it than to plunge optimistically forward into the writing process, hoping that somehow the story will turn out okay. For a lone individual, this is one of the hardest and most fundamental lessons we must learn. And learn. And learn.

If you have any comments about the article or about how you go about judging the merits of a new idea before you commit to writing it, please share it with the rest of us!

David

2 comments on “Article about teen books

  1. I haven’t read the article. Here are my comments on ideas.
    I have a big problem; too many ideas pop up in my head. I write an idea down, mull it over in my head, and if I come up with some useful information, I will add it to the file.
    Then I go back to finish the pieces I am working on. Anytime, I can add to a filed idea I do, as I build it into a complete piece. If I am satisfied and excited about the idea with the most information, this will be the piece I work on next.
    .

    • Mary Nida,

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts and technique. I hope others will chime in with their own comments. How to decide what to write about is a critical area of concern so let’s hear from all you writers!

      David

Leave a Reply

