Carol-Ann Hoyte today

Today I welcome my fourth Guest Reader, Carol-Ann Hoyte, from Montreal, Quebec, Canada, to the stage. Thank you, Carol-Ann, for stepping forward to share your picture and poem with us.I told Carol-Ann this is the first poem for two voices that anyone has posted so far so I’m especially glad to see it. Her format was in two columns, which makes it easier to follow each voice. Unfortunately, WordPress’s program automatically throws everything flush left no matter how hard I try to work around it.

All I can do is name the voices above each part of the poem, which is how some publishers do it anyway. My apologies to you, Carol-Ann, and I hope you and your fans will understand.

IT TAKES A FRIEND

(A Poem for Two Voices)

by Carol-Ann Hoyte

(1st voice)
One friend

(both voices)
needs

(2nd voice)
another friend

(both voices)
to

(1st voice)
read a poem

(2nd voice)
for two voices,

(1st voice)
bounce a see-saw

(2nd voice)
up and down,

(1st voice)
sing a song

(2nd voice)
sing a song

(1st voice)
in rounds,

(2nd voice)
in rounds,

(1st voice)
ride a bicycle

(2nd voice)
built for two,

(1st voice)
run a three-legged

(2nd voice)
or wheelbarrow race,

(1st voice)
play chess, catch,

(2nd voice)
or tic-tac-toe,

(1st voice)
tell a joke,

(2nd voice)
give a tickle,

(both voices)
and, but best of all,
share a hug.

My thanks to Carol-Ann for sharing this joyful poem. Please leave your comments in the boxes below. Next week I’ll be sharing an article and poem by Ken Slesarik from Phoenix, Arizona. Ken comes up on July 7. Don’t miss it.

David

