Woza Woza, Poetry Tag, and WOM Poems

Hi everyone,

I’m home for a while and have a lot of catching up to do. Here are three cases in point.

ONE:

I haven’t kicked off a Woza Woza Poem for this month. This suggestion came from Silindile Ntuli. The idea is that someone begin with a first line and others add a line (or more) each day to see how the poem develops and where it takes us. We tried the first poem in November but somewhere along the line we got bogged down and never finished it. I’ll go first again this month. Here is my line to get us started:

She came to me, a stranger, and climbed on my lap.
She is so cute, I smiled and knew we would be friends
(2nd line just now added, thanks to Janet Kay Gallagher.)
I stroked her fur; felt the scar upon her floppy ear
(Thanks, Cory Corrado.)

Thanks and keep the lines coming. Let’s keep this poem free verse. It needs no meter or rhyme.

TWO:

On December 1, we started a game of poetry tag, which was suggested by Jane Heitman Healy. She started with a poem about orthopedic shoes and was quickly followed by Corry Corrado, Scarred Poet, and Ken Slesarik. Each poet picked up some element of the preceding poem to relate to. Ken left us with a hippo and no notion of what it migh eat. That’s how poetry tag works. We started with shoes and wound up with a hippo with a mystery diet after only three new poems.

In the spirit of keeping the game of tag going, here’s my contribution. My poem is connected by the idea of diet. The poem is previously published in the book THE BOY WHO COUNTED STARS.

The Perfect Diet

Mrs. LaPlump weighed 300 pounds,
Her husband weighed 202.
“I’ve got to lose some weight,” she said,
“I’ll give up potatoes and pizza and bread.”
Mr. LaPlump said, “I will, too.
My darling, I’ll do it for you.”

When each of them lost 100 pounds,
He weighed only 102.
“I’ve got to lose more weight,” she said.
“This next 100,” said he, “I dread
For when we are finished I’ll only weight 2,
But darling, I’ll do it for you.”

They lost another 100 pounds,
Her figure was perfect and trim,
But there is a lesson here I think,
Mr. LaPlump continued to shrink
And one day disappeared down the sink,
And you may find this grim, my dears,
But it was the end for him.

I hope this poem will inspire some new directions with your poems that somehow relate. Think humor, weight, diet, sink, food, pizza, etc. There are lots of ways to tie in.

THREE:

I’m glad to see that we already have two poems posted for this month’s Word of the Month Challenge. From Steven Withrow we have “Climate Change in Faeryland” and in the WOM Young Poets, Grades 8-12, Omar Teran has posted his poem, “Weather.”

I look forward to December, as busy as it is, to see what will come from your creative spirits during the month.

Thanks everyone,
David

5 comments on “Woza Woza, Poetry Tag, and WOM Poems

  1. A Perfect Diet follow-up…

    The potatoes were sour-creamed and plump-baked
    The pizza was spicy, hot, and well-beyond dressed
    The bread was warm, thick, and buttered-crusty
    I gobbled them down with gusto and gluttonous-glee
    Then bubbling like a ready-to-burst balloon
    To the bedroom I waddled and flopped onto my bed

    I tossed and I turned
    I lashed and I thrashed
    I dreamed of mountains of potatoes and pizza and bread,
    I dreamed of baking and shaking, of banging and bursting
    I dreamed of rumbling and grumbling, of rolling and mumbling. THEN…
    a loud CRASH!!!

    When in the morning I woke spread flat on the ground
    I knew the dreams had not been dreamed in my head
    The weight of the potatoes and pizza and bread made ‘TWIN’ see RED!

    So now here I lie- my twin-bed is dead.
    I pledge to give up (a few pounds of)
    potatoes, pizza, and bread
    And buy me a new king-size one instead!

    • Thanks, Cory, for keeping our game of poetry tag moving. We have learned the conseqences of a potatoe and pizza and bread diet. We’ve lost a bed in the deal and must now go shopping.

      Who sees a new direction/connection in this poem?

      David

Leave a Reply

