Silent auction for a featured spot

Hi everyone,

I’d like to tell you about an opportunity to bid on a featured spot here on the blog. The highest bidder will be featured on an upcoming post and the money will go to the Writers Hall of Fame scholarship fund. For more than a decade this organization has recognized an outstanding writer each year and provided college scholarships for high school seniors who dream of pursuing their interests in becoming writers.

Money for the scholarships comes from donations and from an auction held at the banquet to honor the year’s inductee. The date this year is March 19. My donation is to feature someone on my blog. You’ve read my Featured Guest spots and the occasional Guest Reader posts. The highest bidder for a featured spot will be my honored guest in the same way. As always I will post an article by the bidder on some aspect of children’s literature, a personal essay on his or her journey as a writer, or provide a questions and answers interview. If the high bidder wishes to give someone else the opportunity to be featured, that’s fine too. I’ve never featured a student on my blog so this might be an opportunity to let me highlight an aspiring young writer you know. Maybe there’s an upcoming special occasion and you’re stuck for a unique gift.

The minimum starting bid is $75. If you or someone you know would like to support this effort in return for a featured spot, I hope you will start the bidding. The auction will continue until 7:15 CST the night of the banquet so I’m arranging for one of the board members to carry a cell phone that evening to take incoming calls right up to the final minute of bidding. I’ll give the number you can call that evening from 6:00 – 7:15 to bidders who contact me by e-mail and request it. This is a fun way to support young writers so I hope you’ll help me spread the word. This week a notice is being sent to a number of writers organizations, college campuses, and school districts so I’ll keep you aware of developments.

NOTE: Until the night of the auction, bids can be posted in the comment boxes under today’s post. Thanks!

David

