Vivian Vande Velde tomorrow

rubberman

Hi everyone,

Today I’m pleased to tell you that my Featured Guest this week is Vivian Vande Velde, author of more than twenty books for young people including the teen fantasy, NOW YOU SEE IT. I hope you will check out her site at http://www.vivianvandevelde.com/background.cfm

VIVIAN VANDE VELDE

Yes, Vivian Vande Velde is my real name. To hear me pronounce it, you can go to the Author Name Pronunciation Guide at TeachingBooks.net by clicking here. http://www.teachingbooks.net/pronounce.cgi?aid=2511
I became a writer because I love stories–all kinds of stories, but especially fantasy. I can’t remember a time before I wanted to be a writer. My parents did a great job of convincing me I could do whatever I set my mind to.

I was born in 1951 and have lived almost my entire life in Rochester, New York. I married Jim Vande Velde. (So, yes, Vivian Vande Velde is my real name.) When our daughter Beth was born, I quit my job as a secretary. Since I was home all day, I had to either take housework more seriously or come up with a good excuse why I couldn’t. So this was the point where I had to stop saying “Someday I’m going to be a writer,” and do something about it.The first book I wrote was A Hidden Magic.Writing turned out to be harder work than I thought it would be. (To read more about writing, go to the WRITING ADVICE page.) But, once I finished writing the book, getting it published was even harder. I sent it out to 32 different publishers over a two-year period, before number 33 said yes.So, if you’re interested in seeing your stories become books, keep in mind that lots of people heard “no” from publishers before they heard “yes”–including:
• Dr. Seuss
• Edgar Allen Poe
• Stephen King
• Madeline L’Engle
• J.K. RowlingWriting can be easier if you have the support of other writers. Luckily for me, there are a lot of children’s writers in the Rochester area. I belong to two groups, each with wonderful people who help each other by asking gentle questions (What is it, exactly, dear, that you’re trying to say here?) and who offer encouragement and advice to each other. And besides that, they’re a lot of fun.

UPDATE: After I posted information about the auction for a featured spot on my blog to raise funding for scholarships for aspiring young writers, we received an opening bid of $100 from Kay Logsdon. I’m delighted to be off to such a good start.

Rather than repeat the whole explanation, I’m giving you the link to go straight there. https://davidlharrison.wordpress.com/2011/03/09/silent-auction-for-a-featured-spot /

The bidding will remain open to the moment the auction is closed at 7:15 p.m. on March 19 at the annual Writers Hall of Fame dinner. That night from 6:00 – 7:15, people at the banquet will have a chance to make bids too. I’ll make sure that any bids received here on the blog will be entered on the bidding sheet that evening. Furthermore, I’ll turn on my cell phone from 6:00 – 7:15 so that you can call me to see what the high bid is and make a new one if you desire. How’s that for a plan? I’ll give the phone number to bidders who contact me by e-mail and ask for it. My address is davidlharrison1@att.net .

2 comments on “Vivian Vande Velde tomorrow

  1. I love VVV’s work (yes, that IS her real name). And though she says writing is hard work, when I was her editor I thought she made all that hard work look effortless. I was both awed–and jealous.

    If you’ve missed her work, do you have a treat ahead!

    Jane

Leave a Reply

