Punning for fun

REMINDER: Today at noon CST time, I’ll cut off entries for this month’s WOM poems. Don’t get left out!

Hi everyone,

A lot of people I know are fond of word play, including punning. I love to do it and so does my son Jeff. Not long ago we became locked in a running contest that began when he sent me a humorous picture of a dog. I don’t recall what the picture looked like but Jeff’s comment triggered the running punning.

Jeff
My next dog . . . a little Jaydog.

David
Must be from Kansas, don’t your figure?

Jeff
Definitely . . . there is no paws for doubt.

David
Probably a Lamda Chi (I was); too clever for a Sigma Nu (he was).

Jeff
Too many hoops to jump through for a Sigma Nu, just to round out the joke.

David
I never heard such dribble.

Jeff
I’m surprised, as well travelled as you are.

David
Whoa, that was like a three pointer. I Keds you not.

Jeff
You really sneakered up on me with that one. What a gym of a joke. I’m a basket case just trying to keep up.

David
That made me whoop and howl.

Jeff
After you net it out, you really need a rim shot on that one.

David
I may be treading lightly here but it curs to me that we should flea this tail and run fur it or take a hike before we both go to the dogs.

Jeff (kidding me as he signs off)
I just don’t think I can compete at this level.

And so these things go. Most of the time an exchange like that starts by accident and soon takes on the air of a contest. Sandy and I used to play that game with Jeff and Robin when they were growing up.

I don’t suggest that the quick exchange I had with Jeff deserves a blue ribbon. I only offer it as a sample of word play that writers of all ages engage in as an exercise in association, meaning, and imagination. Does anyone have a contribution to this topic?

David

