My Word of the Month poem

Hi everyone,

I’ve been wondering how this month’s word (NEW) would speak to me. We’ve been enjoying a good range of stories spinning off this word. Around here summer is quickly slipping away. Days are windy. Leaves are tearing off trees and falling like huge flakes of colored snow. The lilac bushes in our window box planter have slowly lost their strength to bloom. The bees, bumblebees, butterflies, moths, wasps, and other insects that spent the summer sipping at the blossoms have disappeared, except for one last bumblebee that I saw two days ago, seeking out the one last lilac blossom.

Last Blossom of Summer

Where a thousand sweet throats
welcomed urgent tongues,
one frail bloom remains,
a dying oasis
where a bumblebee pays
a final call.

Bee and flower, as gray rain comes,
fade like credits on a screen,
like lovers in a last embrace,
an old story, ever new, come spring.
— David L. Harrison

2 comments on “My Word of the Month poem

  1. MAGNIFICENT, David! What lovely images. A sad eloquent love story with a hopeful ending.

    Having spent a good part of the summer observing and photographing bees and insects ‘in the act of buzzing blissful activity’ your poem resonates with me. I have gained a new respect, admiration, and appreciation for both bees and flowers. Thank you for this BEAUTIFUL hommage.

    Cory
    P.S. I did not know lilacs still bloomed. Mine only flower in May.

    • Hi Cory,

      I’m glad you like my poem. But I may be wrong about the plant. I just posted a picture taken in May so click on it to make it larger and tell me what I have. A friend who saw it earlier this year said it was a lilac bush so that’s what I’ve been calling it. If anyone knows for sure what it is, I’ll be grateful.

      David

Leave a Reply

