What are you reading?

Hi everyone,

Only a few more shopping days to go. We finally have a few packages under the tree and more in the car that haven’t been brought in yet. Tonight we’ll hit it again. One of the things I like to give is a good book and I know that many of you have the same habit.

So today’s questions is about books. May I ask what you’re reading or have read lately that you would recommend? I just bought KILLING LINCOLN by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard but haven’t read it yet. And I’m rereading LIFE OF PI by Yann Martel, which I read long ago and enjoyed. In the children’s world I recently read Douglas Florian’s INSECTLOPEDIA and Joyce Sidman’s DARK EMPEROR and loved them both. I just finished reading WILD by Cheryl Strayed and had mixed feelings about it. Every now and then I return to Billy Collins’s HOROSCOPES FOR THE DEAD, a favorite, and last night I picked up THE POETRY FRIDAY ANTHOLOGY, and enjoyed another dozen or so poems in the delightful collection assembled by Janet Wong and Sylvia Vardell. I’m currently reading MIND OF THE RAVEN, by Bernd Heinrich because I’m into crows and ravens. I certainly recommend Jill Corcoran’s anthology of poems about people who have made a difference. It’s called DARE TO DREAM . . . CHANGE THE WORLD. And don’t forget the collection of sports poems by poets all over the world. It’s called AND THE CROWD GOES WILD! and was edited by Carol-Ann Hoyt and Heidi Bee Roemer. Another excellent read is AMERICA – THE OWNER’S MANUAL: HOW YOUR COUNTRY REALLY WORKS AND HOW TO KEEP IT RUNNING, by Harvey Asher and Sandy Asher.

What about you? Anything you would recommend to be added to someone’s gift list? Let’s hear from you.

David

