Poems from a list of words

Hi everyone,

Thanks to all who have contributed poems inspired by a list of words that share nothing more than the same sound. I hope to see several more but we’ve already seen how the process of looking at a list and thinking about the words can stimulate the mind to devise a poem. David giving brief remarks For anyone who has ever said he didn’t know what to write about, this is an example of how to get started. In my case, the blended sound CR led to a narrative about a love affair between a crocodile and a cricket. I have no idea how that happened. The mind works in mysterious ways indeed.

David

6 comments on “Poems from a list of words

    • Good morning, Jane, and thank you. There are so many ways to start a poem. I hope everyone is enjoying these exercises and explorations. David

  1. I love the list-of-words challenge, David, and hope you do more of them. I work with controlled vocab lists on a daily basis with the early readers and poetry and dictation sentences that I write, and it is such a challenge — but one that, as you say, has taken my mind on some crazy rides! Working on another deadline, so can’t play much lately, but I’m reading!

    What a fun project to write 96 of these! 🙂

    • I love it when you come by, Renee. Glad you like the list approach. I think I’ll give it another try one of these days. Good luck with your deadline! David

Leave a comment