Writers Hall of Fame Quill Award

Hi everyone,

If you live anywhere in the Springfield, Missouri area, you might want to put this upcoming event on your calendar. I’m printing the news release as written by Kathleen O’Dell. I hope to see some of you there!

For Immediate Release
March 5, 2014
Contact: Kim Flores, Writers Hall of Fame President, 417-655-3557

Veteran Journalist Henry “Hank” Billings To Receive 2014 Quill Award March 15

The public is invited to attend a gala dinner Saturday, March 15, at the Tower Club in Springfield, when the Writers Hall of Fame honors veteran Springfield News-Leader reporter Henry “Hank” Billings with the annual Quill Award.

Hank Billings may be the fastest, two-finger typist on the planet, and continues to be a regular columnist for the News-Leader.

Despite never having learned to type and never attending college, Billings has touched hearts and funny bones of readers since 1943 with his readable, popular feature stories and columns. Among his favorite topics were aviation, the pitfalls of childrearing as told by local parents, and Ozarks lore.

The event begins with a social and silent auction at 6 p.m. in the main dining room of the Tower Club, 901 St. Louis St. Dinner will be served at 7 p.m., followed by the presentation of the Quill Award. The evening will conclude with a live auction by professional auctioneer Mike Easterly. Proceeds from the auctions fund Writers Hall of Fame college scholarships for high school seniors.

Tickets to the dinner gala are $35 per person and can be reserved by calling Kathy McQueen at 417-368-1231, or order tickets online through brownpapertickets, at http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/555594 . Reservations requested by March 11. The Writers Hall of Fame can accept only check or cash for auction items.

The Writers Hall of Fame is a not-for-profit organization that encourages writers of all ages. Proceeds from various events fund college scholarships for talented high school seniors, and recognizes students in grades 5 to 12 for their writing skills.

To fulfill its mission, the volunteer board of directors each year selects a professional writer to receive the Quill Award for making significant contributions to the written word.

Past Quill Award recipients include young adult authors Sandy Asher and Kate Klise; producer Linda Bloodworth-Thomason; children’s author and poet David Harrison, songwriter Johnny Mullins and novelist Daniel Woodrell. (David’s note: Kathleen O’Dell is also a past inductee.)

Please “Like” the Writers Hall of Fame on Facebook and see more about the March 15 event and auctions.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s