My September Word of the Month poem

Hi everyone,

This month I thought it would be fun to turn to Shakespeare himself for inspiration. He had such a bubbly disposition. Once begun I was soon remembering Renee LaTulippe’s incredible performance from Macbeth over at NO WATER RIVER.
http://www.nowaterriver.com/portfolio-item/the-three-witches-from-macbeth-by-william-shakespeare .
So, my talented dear, you can see at once where this is heading. To accept my challenge you need not douse yourself with icy water. You need only to respond, Macbeth-like, to my poem of the month. Let the bubbling begin!

From Macbeth, more or less,
With apologies, as you might guess.
David L. Harrison

A dark Kitchen. In the middle, a crock pot boiling. Thunder.
Enter three Witches.

Witch 1
Thrice the aged cabbage stewed.

Witch 2
Thrice and once, the children whin’d.

Witch 3
Mothers cackle, “’tis time! ‘tis time!”

Witch 1
Round about the crock pot go,
In the blackened mushrooms throw,
Radish slickening long alone,
Pork decaying off the bone,
Swelter’d squashes border rot,
Boil thou first i’ the charmed pot!

All
Double, double toil and trouble,
Children quake, and crock pot bubble.

Witch 2
Fling a maggoty bloody steak
Into the crock pot, boil and bake
Eye of potato, tongue of frog,
Stinking spinach, howl of dog,
Cauliflower old since spring,
Cold forsaken chicken wing
For a charm of powerful trouble,
Like devil-broth boil and bubble.

All
Double, double toil and trouble,
Children quake, and crock pot bubble.

Witch 3
Rancid fish which time has come,
Worm of apple, mush-gone plum,
Green mold bread hard as bark,
Gooseberries plucked i’ the dark,
Something brackish, something phew,
Dump them all in ghoulish stew.
Sliver’d in the moon’s eclipse –
If you have them, chicken lips –
Celery six months past its prime,
Lima beans gone chartreuse slime,
Of freezer burned, throw in the lot,
Adds mystery to the pot.
Screech and cackle, watch it thicken,
He who eats it shall be stricken.

All
Double, double toil and trouble,
Children quake, and crock pot bubble.

Witch 2
Fill their bowls with spoon of wood,
And now the charm is firm and good.

11 comments on “My September Word of the Month poem

  1. When I saw the WOM, I thought of this ‘bubble, bubble’, too, David. Oh what joy you’ve offered cooks, despite response of gloomy looks! Now their frig is clean and bright, preparing for more food and fright! Thank you!

  2. This is hysterical, David! I’m thrilled if my creepy video helped the pot bubble even a tiny bit, and I thank Shakespeare for inspiring this ghoulish recipe. I will have to brew up one of my own, though it will be difficult to surpass “if you have them, chicken lips” — HAHAHA!

    • Hi, Dear. Tell you what I’ll do. You don’t even have to write a new recipe if you’ll promise to read mine for one of your videos so others can enjoy the way that only you can read the witches of Macbeth. How’s that for a bargain?

  3. This is hilarious!!! I love Renee’s Macbeth video, too. I’ve watched it many a time. And I just checked my fridge and surprise! No chicken lips!
    And I remember your post a few weeks ago, “Brats by the lake” and wondered perhaps if you were eating this brew by the lake, too?

Leave a Reply

