Facing a blank piece of paper

Hi everyone,

This will be an interesting day. I’m waiting for responses from more than half a dozen editors about various projects in progress or new proposals. My filing is done, or at least enough that I can quit for now. My records are caught up to date. The only reason I have to leave the house today is to hit the gym at 4:30.

I have choices. I can take a holiday from work and spend the day reading. I can get on with my Christmas shopping. Or I can get into a face-off with a blank sheet of paper and stick with it until my muse whispers in my ear. If I do that, I know some tricks that will give me an edge. For one, there’s always my standby: association. Start with a word and let the mind wander from one connection to another until something clicks. I might look at the lake for a while, watching the action (yesterday a heron flew to the top of a tall tree on the far bank) until I’m inspired by what I see. I could go dumpster diving into my files after some of those beginnings and notes and outlines that I found in folders tucked here and there.

I’ll let you know tomorrow how I spent my day.

By the way, I checked this morning on the number of times my Macbeth video has been visited: 499. Here’s the link again. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=11tTOTPZtE0

2 comments on “Facing a blank piece of paper

  1. “Look at everything as though you were seeing it for the first time,” wrote Betty Smith (born on this day in 1896), “or the last time. Then your time on earth will be filled with glory.” That goes for your writing too, dear David.

Leave a Reply

