2015 inductees into Missouri Writers Hall of Fame

Hi everyone,

A few weeks ago I mentioned what a pleasure it was to interview Randle Chowning and Larry Lee for a video to be aired by Writers Hall of Fame as part of the build up to their induction this year. Board president Kim Flores just released this press notice.

For Immediate Release
February 1, 2015
Contact: Kim Flores, Writers Hall of Fame President, 417-616-0708/417-655-3557

Veteran songwriters, Randle Chowning and Larry Lee to receive the 2015 Quill Award on March 14
The public is invited to a gala dinner Saturday, March 14, at the Tower Club in Springfield when Writers Hall of Fame honors inductees Randle Chowning and Larry Lee, songwriters and founding members of the Ozark Mountain Daredevils, with the annual Quill Award.
The event begins with a social hour and silent auction at 6 p.m. at the Tower Club, 901 St. Louis St. Dinner will be served at 7 p.m., followed by the presentation of the Quill Award. The evening will conclude with a live auction. Proceeds from the auctions fund Writers Hall of Fame college scholarships for high school seniors.
Tickets to the dinner gala are $35 per person and can be reserved by calling Kathy McQueen at 417-368-1231, or order tickets online through Brown Paper Tickets at http://www.quillawards2015.bpt.me. Reservations requested by March 7. The Writers Hall of Fame can accept only check or cash for auction items.
Chowning and Lee had commercial success with Ozark Mountain Daredevils and individually as Nashville songwriters. Their most recent collaboration is the band Beyond Reach.
The Writers Hall of Fame is a not-for-profit organization that encourages writers of all ages. Proceeds from various events fund college scholarships for talented high school seniors and recognizes students in grades 5 through 12 for their writing skills.
To fulfill its mission, the volunteer board of directors each year selects a Missouri professional writer to receive the Quill Award for making significant contributions to the written word. Past Quill Award recipients include young adult authors Sandy Asher and Kate Klise; producer Linda Bloodworth-Thomason; children’s author and poet David Harrison, songwriter Johnny Mullins and novelists Daniel Woodrell and Ridley Pearson.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s