Favorite blogs and why

Hi everyone,

Tomorrow I’ll visit Honesdale via Skype to talk to Larry Brimner’s workshop gang about blogging. I have my notes ready but have a favor to ask.

Many of you blog, too, and/or regularly visit BlogSpots that interest you. Would you mind sharing some of your favorites and why you like them? That way I can also provide those who are attending Larry’s workshop with a current list of sites they might want to check out.

Thanks!

David

19 comments on “Favorite blogs and why

  1. Myth and Moor by Terri Windling who is a writer, painter, editor, award winner, American living in Devon who began the Interstitial Arts society and writes about green issues, writing and painting, myth and magic. I often post poems of mine there.

    Miss Rumphius Effect about poetry for children (mostly.)

    Seven Impossible Things about children’s book illustrations and illustrators.

    Those are the ones I visit regularly.

    Jane

  2. I like Kathy Temean’s Writing and Illustrating blog. I read waaaay too many blogs and most of them tend to blur in my mind, even though I think most are quite decent to very good. I am guessing you want only writing or illustration blogs? One of my favorite blogs has to do with soapmaking (because that’s one of my many hobbies).

    • Thank you, Teresa. I like Kathy’s work too. As you may know, she created my website and set up my blog in 2009.

  3. Jama’s Alphabet Soup is a visual delight with information about picture books. I always feel creative after reading it.

  4. Six children’s book writers who also teach writing collaborate on the Teaching Authors blog (www.teachingauthors.com). Current contributors include April Halprin Wayland, Bobbi Miller, Carla Killough McClafferty, Esther Hershenhorn, Mary Ann Rodman, and me (JoAnn Early Macken). We often take turns addressing one topic, we interview other authors, we give away books, and we include writing workouts on some Wednesdays.

    • Good morning, JoAnn. Thank you for pitching in for the list. I certainly agree that Teaching Authors need to be on it. You all do such good work!

  5. Hi David. I’m not really sure what you’re looking for, but the reason I enjoy blogging at Today’s Little Ditty (http://michellehbarnes.blogspot.com/) is because it’s a fun community playground of sorts. Each month I spotlight a children’s poet in an interview and they offer a challenge and a signed book as a give away. All month long I collect the poems which range in level from beginner to pro, feature quite a few of them as “daily ditties,” and have a wrap-up celebration at the end of the month to showcase them all. Yes, I feature my own work alongside the others, but mostly it’s about being supportive of the children’s poetry community. Right now I’m wrapping up Kwame Alexander’s challenge to write a clerihew. On Friday, I’ll have an interview with Nikki Grimes and a new challenge.

  6. David,
    Do you want children’s poetry blogs? E ach Friday the children’s poets get together for the Poetry Friday Roundup. Usually there are about 40-50 poets who show up with postings. Renee LaTulippe had a great post about this last Friday on her blog No Water River. She also has a wonderful library of interviews and readings by and about children’s poets at http://www.nowaterriver.com
    I’m working on five years now of posting daily a poem for children and a poetry prompt ar www,poetryforkidsjoy.blogspot.com Many of the folks from your poetry workshops have blogs: Bridget Magee – http://www.weewordsforweeones.blogspot.com
    Matt Forrest- Radio, Rhythm and Rhyme, Jeanne Poland- Vibrant Channel Creator, Linda Baie, Heidi Mordhorst, Buffy Silverman, Rebecca Shoniker, Liz Steinglass, Robyn Hood Black, Julie Hedlund. Sylvia Vardell has a fun blog. There is lots of information out there on blogs, so much that it is hard to keep up with it all.

    • Joy, your last sentence sums up the situation. There are a LOT of bloggers out there. We’re like a forest of peepers, each adding our voice to a vast and growing choir. Thanks for your list.

  7. Blogs I enjoy every day:
    1 https://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2015/04/23/i-need-your-love-so-bad/#respond (Great guitar music with worldwidemusicians and artwork too)

    2 https://kintal.wordpress.com/2015/04/21/philharmonic-cicadas-2/#respond
    (prolific graphic artist and poet from the Phillipines). WordPress provides daily posts in many languages.

    3 http://www.lauriedoctor.com/musings/2015/04/07/diving-into-the-wreck/#respond
    ( Outstanding artist with the most beautifully designed blog which continues discussions on Linked-In for weeks afterward.)

    4 https://theresebroderick.wordpress.com/2015/04/25/25-april-2015/#respond
    Poetry about Art Blog from Albany NY

    5 (I would second all the blogs Joy Acey mentioned. I frequent them every week.

    6 My blog has an illustration every day to accompany a poem and after learning from your blog, David. I set off and now have 400 followers at:
    https://thevibrantchanneledcreator.wordpress.com/
    Best Wishes with the Skype,
    Jeanne Poland

    • Good morning, good Jeanne. And thank you for adding to the list with these excellent sites. I think I’ll now have a good list for Larry’s workshop attendees to add to their own favorites.

  8. I’ve visited many and my jaded mind decided that most are a waste of my time. I follow only one blog. Yours.

Leave a Reply

