The Word of the Month for May is . . .

Hi everyone,

Welcome to the merry, merry month of May! Let the rumpus begin. Let the days warm. Let leaves unfurl and blossoms charm and bees hum in the garden. Let fancies turn to love. Let poems flow, inspired by our word for May, which is FLOURISH.

The poetry lamp is lighted.

David

19 comments on “The Word of the Month for May is . . .

    • Greetings, Joanna, and thank you. I appreciate your help in sharing the Word of the Month word. I hope it inspires even more poetry this month.

  1. I See You Spring and Raise You

    I see you spring, and raise you
    one soft day at a time
    till summer antes up
    and brings us the full deck.

    I hear you spring, that flourish,
    note after note, on the syrinx,
    bird pipes sending us songs
    to March to. April, May as well.

    I touch you spring, the mossyness
    of your mornings, the sharp prick
    of daffodil spikes, the nap
    of lawn before the moles.

    I taste you spring, that tang-
    tangling tongue, a spritz
    of showers, lemon fresh,
    the zest of sunlight.

    I smell you, spring, new in the nose,
    an awakening, a perfume explosion
    swung by censers in the cathedral
    of the rising sun.

    ©Jane Yolen all rights reserved

      • I’d reply that I’d tangle tongues with you any time, but your dear wife would (quite reasonably) bop me on the head when all I was talking about was poetry! So I will refrain. In fact, I am good at refrains. And stanzas and verses and. . .

      • Hi Jane
        I see that you will be in Hudson tomorrow for the Children’s Book Fair. Here I am living in Hudson and loving your books every day. (Especially Bad Girls!) Perhaps I’ll face the crowd…

  2. I spent hours at Disney’s Animal Kingdom studying a band of bachelor gorillas, and I’ve tried and failed to write about them until I decided to play with one of my favorite sonnets. The bird I write about is not strictly real. (I get “flourish” in “fruiting flowers.”)

    The Gorilla Bird
    (After Robert Frost’s “The Oven Bird”)

    There is a singer Africans have heard,
    Proud, a silverback gorilla bird,
    Who makes his nest in a clouded mountain glen.
    He says that leaves are bland and fruiting flowers
    Taste sweet with pith and tree bark now and then.
    He says his highland habitat is vast
    From bamboo forest sloping up to towers
    Of kousso redwoods from a hidden past;
    And climbs the distant ridges to feel tall.
    He says volcanic ash is under all.
    The bird would change into his namesake ape
    But that he knows he’d lose the single thing
    In trading in his wings for knuckled shape
    That gives him undiminished power to sing.

    To read “The Oven Bird,” visit http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/173533

    © 2015 Steven Withrow, all rights reserved

  3. You’re all so upbeat and sweet
    about spring
    Flourishing
    Nourishing
    Flowers and birds
    I’ll just add ACHOO!
    Because
    Hay fever doesn’t rhyme with anything.

    • Hello, fellow sufferer. Our pollen/mold/spore counts are so high around here that sneezing is reaching epic proportions. There’s surely a poem about misery loving company.

  4. May beaver, nose weaver, big sneezer (a stretch), mold siever, winter bereaver or winter griever), flower achiever, allergy cleaver, snow leaver, ski peever, come on–you’re not really trying.

    Or maybe you are very trying.

    Your choice.

    xxxJane

  5. My poem for May is on the esoteric side because some of the name places may not be familiar to everyone, but I’m going with it anyway. Ask for footnotes in Reply.
    Aloha to one and all.

    Weather report, Maui, Hawaii:

    Expect early morning showers
    and surfers
    along roads and streets leading to Ho’okipa.

    The sun will challenge clouds for domain
    and change gray waves to hues of green and blue.
    humans and Hibiscus will unfurl and flourish in the bright sunlight.

    From Haleakala at 5000 feet,
    the best forecast is for white eyebrows
    along the shore from Kanaha to Maliko Gulch
    upward from there, at dawn,
    small precious birds will fuss and twitter
    in old trees.
    clouds will crowd the shining mountain
    and trekkers will experience a catch of
    breath not connected to diminished air.

    Along the road to Hana
    fermenting mangos and breadfruit
    White Ginger
    wet forest
    stinging sand and salt spray at Baldwin Beach.

    windward and mauka showers, indeed.

    Gene Belmont May 2015

Leave a Reply

