Why do I blog?

Hi everyone,
smallDavidHarrisonPosterized
I appreciated your comments about last week’s post on the art of blogging. I said I would give you my own response so here it is.

I wanted to present myself as the whole man rather than the writer of books. No one writes all the time, but we are ourselves twenty-four hours a day. Who we are drives our work. The casual reader might not be concerned about what I was like in my youth or what experiences molded me along the way, but those who are interested in writing might find such information helpful.

I try to make my posts reflect my life as a person who writes. I post about things that are important to me and longtime followers can probably list them as well as I can. Naturally I want my blog to stimulate sales of my books. I want conference chairs to locate me and send invitations to speak. Blogging is part of the writer’s response to the growing demand to promote one’s name and work and abilities. Publishers require that we help brand ourselves so, yes, I want my blog to do that.

A rewarding benefit of posting these open communiques to anyone in the world who discovers them is that friendships are made and nurtured. In my case I’m constantly learning from others even as I attempt to share from my own experiences. I know more people now than I did in 2009. I’ve shared in their disappointments and triumphs, as they have in mine.

One of my poems in a Georgia Heard book is about a frog chorus. It’s told in sounds only. Sometimes I divide an audience into fourths so that each group can sing out in a different voice. And so we all sing our songs with our different voices, and some of us sing from the comfort of our snug little blogs. The wonder is that others hear us and sing back.

8 comments on “Why do I blog?

  1. True, David, we don’t write all the time. We speak, we teach, we learn. The writing life is a far cry from a garret in Paris or cabin in the woods that many of us (me!) dream of when we enter this business.

  2. When I started my Blogger blog 9 years ago, it was mainly to talk about our homesteading and homeschooling and life in general. As a blogger, for those of us who don’t make a living writing (not that I don’t want to, but it hasn’t happened yet), taking a gestalt approach to blogging just makes sense. As a reader, I am glad when authors I know blog about their lives and thoughts because I like to know what makes them tick and get to know the person behind the works I like.

    I need to look up your poem in the Georgia Heard book!

Leave a Reply

