Dumpster diving in the files

Messing around in the files, found this. I’m standing in our front yard in Ajo, Arizona. I’m six, ready to walk to my first day of school. Wrote my first poems that year.

1st day of school, Ajo, Arizona,

27 comments on “Dumpster diving in the files

  1. Gosh–you were all legs then, too!! That was about the same time I wrote my first poem. My mother kept it,but it was awful!! I like to recite it for kids to show them how awful I was as a writer at the beginning.

    Jane

    • I do the same thing, Jane. My mother was a scrapbook keeper so I have access to many such early moments, including those first poems.

      • Mr. Harrison, check out the FB site called Ajomundo. There are hundreds of photos and posts from Ajoites. Thanks for responding! PS…my mother was a librarian in Ajo from 1957 – 1982.

      • Good morning, Cindy. We have house guests so last night I couldn’t spend much time on the computer, certainly not enough to say how delighted I am to hear from people from Ajo and to discover that there’s a FB page that provides pictures and posts. I’ll go there the minute I can and check in.

    • Cindy, I’m working on a new book and want to place some of the action in Ajo and Organ Pipe. I’m thinking about coming to Ajo sometime in the next few weeks to refresh my memories and get learn more information. Can you please get in touch via my e-mail? It’s davidlharrison1@att.net

      Thanks so much.

  2. I am from Ajo too. It looks like maybe the houses were on Morondo or Esperanza. Your books look very, very nice.

    • Good heavens! My cup runneth over today, Ann. Are you and Cindy friends? I’d love to hear more about the Ajo connection!

    • Hi, Ann! I was five when we moved there and don’t remember the name of the street we lived on. We moved (back) to Missouri shortly after I started third grade in 1945. Sometime between 1941 and 1945 we moved into a house right next door to what I remember as a red brick hotel. No other clues in my mind to help guide me.

    • Ann, I’m working on a new book and want to place some of the action in Ajo and Organ Pipe. I’m thinking about coming to Ajo sometime in the next few weeks to refresh my memories and get learn more information. Can you please get in touch via my e-mail? It’s davidlharrison1@att.net

      Thanks so much.

    • Good morning, Linda,
      We were in Ajo slightly more than four years. When the war ended, my father moved us back to Springfield to start a concrete block manufacturing company. While we were in Ajo, Dad worked in the payroll for Phelps Dodge.

    • Linda, I’m working on a new book and want to place some of the action in Ajo and Organ Pipe. I’m thinking about coming to Ajo sometime in the next few weeks to refresh my memories and get learn more information. Can you please get in touch via my e-mail? It’s davidlharrison1@att.net

      Thanks so much.

  3. Pingback: Finding a link to my past | Children's Author David L. Harrison's Blog

  4. I am also an Ajoite! Born here, raised here. Left after high school, came back! You probably don’t remember much.. Maybe the summer hotter than hell! Lol.check out the pics in Ajo mundo.. Love your books!

    • Hello, Connie! I’m having a grand time hearing from folks from Ajo! I tried Ajomundo yesterday but somehow didn’t discover the pictures. I’ll keep trying. You’re right; I don’t remember much but one never forgets that heat! I’m happy to hear you like my books!

    • Connie, I’m working on a new book and want to place some of the action in Ajo and Organ Pipe. I’m thinking about coming to Ajo sometime in the next few weeks to refresh my memories and get learn more information. Can you please get in touch via my e-mail? It’s davidlharrison1@att.net

      Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

