Drury Convocation Talk

Hi everyone,

I’ve been invited to give a convocation talk at Drury’s Stone Chapel. It will give me a chance to wear my Drury honorary doctorate hood and address a group of Distinguished Alumni Award winners as well as faculty, students of the university, and guests. I gave a convocation talk at Drury years ago before the annual series was discontinued. As I understand it, this is the first in a new series so I’m delighted to be asked.
receivingdoctorDrurysm2
The idea is to think back to my Drury experience in 1955-1959 and consider the ways in which that experience impacted on my life and informed my work and community outreach efforts. I’ve finished the first draft and can tell you that this is a useful exercise that I recommend. If you take a while to reminisce about your own educational experiences and trace the impact they had on your life, it’s surprising how many connections you’ll discover.

The event is at 11:00 a.m. on October 8. I don’t know if it’s open to the public but will find out if anyone is interested in attending. This takes place during reunion Weekend so I know it’s open to members of celebrating classes.

3 comments on “Drury Convocation Talk

    • I’d brag and confess that I have two of them but that smarty Jane Yolen has at least half a dozen. But I am COOLer than I was when it was in the 80s last week.

Leave a Reply

