The day after

Hi everyone,

Last night our family called it quits around 1:00 and went to bed promising to get up early to clean up the mess. My M.O.W. was the only one who followed through. When I crawled out to greet the world, Sandy had already put the kitchen in order even though she’s hobbling around with a stress fracture in her left foot. Tough babe.

Then we all trooped off to Gamble’s to mark things down for the traditional after Christmas sale. Every item in the store is now priced at least 25% off retail and many are up to 60% off. Jeff and Jennifer went off to buy donuts for the crew, Sandy was busy waiting on early shoppers, staff were streaming in through the door along with the customers, and I fled for home.

I can’t play much though. I face a living room still to be straightened and my gifts to put away. All in all, it was a lovely celebration at our house and we hope it was at yours as well.

Counting down to the 1st. You might be thinking of a poem to usher in the new year . . .

David

6 comments on “The day after

  1. Merry “after” Christmas, David. I slept in to find my daughter-in-law had already done quite a bit of cleaning up! Now she’s off with friends, the others are skiing, & I’ll finish up taking time, remembering the good Christmas Day, as I bet you will too. The anticipation before and the memory after are just about as good as the day itself! Best wishes for good sales, and sorry about Sandy’s foot.

    • And a very merry after to you, too, dear Linda! I think you got it right. And we will have many new and delicious memories from this Christmas to add to the ones before. It’s pouring rain and the forecast calls for 100% chance of rain today and tomorrow, tapering off to 90% chance on Monday. Not good if you’re a retailer.

  2. Christmas. I got to hold a baby yesterday, my kid sister’s first grandchild, who knows not a darned thing about the American Revolution or the Beatles or Chopin. We just looked into one another’s blue eyes while she clamped her baby fingers round my nose & made a forever memory, insofar as I get to keep my marbles.

    • Oh I know all about the dirty tricks that babies play. The first time I held my sister, she was about as big and as sweet as a sack of sugar and she went to sleep in my arms. Instant bonding.

  3. You reminded me of what it is like to be in business—I grew up that way. Christmas was extremely busy for dad, and often on Christmas morning he would slip away to check some detail, or money matter, or upcoming sales matter at “the store”. But he would always be home for our traditional holiday dinner. I want to see Gambles sometime when I am in Springfield!

    • Hi Bill. You’re so right about those day after Christmas morning duties. We’ve been there bright and early every December 26 since 1984. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

