Calling all poets for New Year’s Day

Hi everyone,
David reading with Noah Lawson

David reading with Noah Lawson


Just so you know, I’ve finished my New Year poem and will post it on January 1. I’d love to see other poems to help us usher in 2016 in style. Be ready to share yours on New Year’s Day.

I’m open for suggestions for the Word of the Month word for January. Any ideas?

In six more days I’ll have a new book out: RHYMES FOR THE TIMES. That’s my New Year’s present to me. Thanks, you. You’re welcome, me. Here’s a sample poem. 61text4ZD3L__AA160_
Ellis Island

By the hundreds they come,
dragging, toting possessions
like peddlers to market
in pockets, baskets,
cardboard boxes,
leather sacks,
on their heads and backs,
the most precious, in their hearts.

Frelingers from France,
who will settle in Kentucky
to be iron dealers and blacksmiths.
Joy Acey

Andersons from Norway,
to be ship fitters out of New York.

In endless snaking lines
they start-stop-start along,
hugging their children close
amid the nervous babble of languages
echoing around the vaulted hall.
Jeanne Poland
Canio DeLoca from Italy,
ice-cream maker.

Conrad Rasinski from Poland,
musician who will perform
in John Phillip Sousa’s band.
Tim Rasinski and Ginger
By the hundreds,
the thousands they come.
America!
So close they can see it,
almost smell it,
feel it’s pulse beckoning
them!

Oelrichs from Germany,
fun loving musical farmers
who will settle in Iowa
for 40 acres and a mule.

Joe and Maria Giuseppe from Italy,
will settle in Ohio
where Joe works a production line
for B.F. Goodrich.

Stanislaus Dombek from Poland,
who will mine for coal in Pennsylvania.

A few more questions,
forms, examinations . .
Jane Yolen
Yolens from Ukraine,
bottlers with money in their pockets
who will settle near New Haven,
produce tradesmen,
journalists, artisans.

By the hundreds,
the thousands,
the millions they come
through the great gate
that opens on their dreams,
their new life,
their America.

(c) Shell Education, 2016
By permission of the author

22 comments on “Calling all poets for New Year’s Day

    • Thanks, Jane. I wish the pictures were in the book, too, but alas they are not. I added them here and really like the effect.

    • Thank you, Mary Jo. I’m sorry that somehow your maiden name didn’t get into the book. You asked, I made the change, but it didn’t get made. Sigh.

    • Jeanne, a thousand pardons for leaving out your picture! You were most helpful, too, when I was researching the poem and I apologize for missing you on this post!!

      I’ll attempt to pinpoint the faces I saw on the tree. I’ll do it on your blog.

    • Thank you, Jane. We don’t have to go back many generations to find our roots in some other part of the world. My people came over from England.

  1. David, I’m finally starting to dig myself out. Each day more new things get checked off the list. I’m learning so much and experiencing many new things. Busy day today, the unpackers come to empty the cargo container.
    This is a great poem. Thank you for including me and all my relatives. Where will your new book be available?

    • Hi Joy! Glad you are beginning to see progress and a light. I look forward to more pictures when you’re ready to greet the world.

      I’m glad you like the poem. Thanks again for providing the information. I wish the pictures were in the book but they only appear in my blog post. I put them there to remind us all of how many talented and wonderful people we all know who would not be here today if someone in their family hadn’t come to this country.

      The book will be available anywhere that sells educational titles. I’m sure a B&N or equivalent can order them, and you can order online as well.

Leave a Reply

