Happy New Year!

Hi everyone,

Wishing you a new year that matches your dreams.

Here’s my poem, blended with a verse and chorus of the traditional Scottish dirge.

And So We Sing

And so we sing for auld lang syne
like bonnie Scotts of old,
with dirge to all we’ve left behind
and hope that makes us bold.

Should old acquaintance be forgot,
and never brought to mind?
Should old acquaintance be forgot,
and old lang syne?

Auld Lang Syne by John_Masey_Wright_-_John_Rogers_-_Robert_Burns_

A new year’s here good friends of mine,
bad habits we’ll eschew.
With wishes clear and sweet as wine
to you and you and you,

For auld lang syne, my dear,
for auld lang syne,
we’ll take a cup of kindness yet,
for auld lang syne.

–(c) by David L. Harrison
With apologies to my female friends for their lack of proper representation in John Masey Wright and John Rogers’ illustration of auld lang syne, c. 1841.

15 comments on “Happy New Year!

  1. January 1:

    Resolutions Redux

    Why make any resolutions
    when breaking them
    within a week or two
    makes me feel worse
    than before?

    I think of all the journals
    in my closet begun January 1,
    strong-handed;
    the last entry an enfeebled
    January 8.

    The chocolate I vowed
    never to eat again,
    found a February later
    in the cupboard
    eaten at one sitting.

    The Nordic Trak rusting
    in the attic, bell bars
    holding up towels,
    maps of jogging trails
    under rolls of toilet paper.

    This year I vow
    not to make any promises,
    resolutions, oaths.
    Easier to keep
    and only the one to break.

    ©2016 Jane Yolen all right reserved

    • Happy New Year, Jane! I love these images. A surprise in each stanza. Thanks for reminding us of all the creative ways one can break a resolution. XO

  2. REBIRTH
    © BY Mary Nida Smith

    Don’t be shy
    open the door.
    Be a little sappy
    meet the promise
    with a jump start.
    Make a list
    check it twice
    expect the best
    and it,
    will be alright.
    Happy New Year
    to you and me.
    Don’t you see
    what we can be.
    The best that old
    year, had ever seen.

    • Thank you, Mary Nida! If anyone has been following my blog longer than you, who would it be? I enjoyed your poem and hereby promise to be a little sappy in 2016.

  3. NEW YEAR
    © Cory Corrado

    365 days
    Wrapped In pretty ribbons and bows,
    Unfurl each gift –
    Live ‘present’ . . . well-spent.
    ………………………….

    Happy New Year, David!
    Happy New Year, e v e r y o n e !

    • And Happy New Year to you, Cory! One of my fondest memories is of you at the first workshop at Boyds Mills, swinging out in the yard, enraptured by your surroundings and your own thoughts. You were indeed wrapped in pretty ribbons and bows.

  4. Critters Midnight Serenade
    © 2015 Michelle Kogan

    Peregrine bounced on
    the high wire as we all
    clung on for dear life… Birrrd
    baaan, kak-kak, he called, off
    after New Years eeeeve.”

    K-k-k- okay,
    cackled squirrel, “let’s start.”
    Sparrow spread the streamers,
    Monk parakeet passed hats,
    “Yay, hooray,” sang sparrow!

    Hurry, snows hiiiiding
    our mooooonlight, sang Falcon.
    Almost ready for
    midnight’s serenade… Cheee,
    middle Ceeee, sang Sparrow.

    All critters were tuned.
    But, squirrel who’s tone deaf
    made fire crac-kles-sssss…
    Chee-chee, one, two, threeeee, led
    sparrow, Happppyyyy Newww Yearrrr!!!

    A tanka critter poem to start 2016. I have a quick sketch for the poem over on my blog: https://moreart4all.wordpress.com/2016/01/01/critter-poem-and-sketch-for-2016 Happy New Year David!

  5. A very happy New Year from England
    BAD RESOLUTIONS

    I’ve always made good resolutions, at the start of every year,
    Like curing myself of smoking and cutting back on beer
    Being nice to people and turning the other cheek
    And always being cheerful, though the future may be bleak.
    I’ll eat at least five portions of fruit and veg. a day
    And use my gym subscription, come what may.

    But now I’m a senior citizen, I’ve finished with that stuff.
    I’ve earned the right to say, enough’s enough.
    Like Jenny Joseph’s lady who’s going to mix purple with red,
    I’ve decided to make, in future, bad resolutions instead.

    I’ll swap the fags for a smelly old briar;
    I’ll sit between everyone else and the fire
    And I’ll order an extra pint of Shires.
    Oh, it’s going to be a good year

    At my age, the gym is undignified
    And why take a walk when you can ride?
    And chips are meant to be deep fat fried.
    Oh it’s going to be a good year

    When on buses and trains, I won’t give up my seat.
    When asked my opinion I won’t be discreet.
    And when playing Scrabble, I’ll shamelessly cheat
    Oh, it’s going to be a good year

    I’ll make racist jokes on my Facebook page
    And sexist ones too, sending blondes in a rage.
    You can say what you like when you get to my age.
    Oh, it’s going to be a good year

    And when my wife nags and gets really cross,
    I’ll stand up straight and tell her who’s boss.
    Well, just in my mind, I won’t let her hear.
    I can’t really hope to have that good a year

    © Bryn Strudwick

    • Ha! And a right jolly way to face this good new year, Bryn! Thank you for reminding those of us of a certain age that there is much to look forward to!

      • What swellegant poems! I especially like that of Bryn’s, that Misbehaver’s Manifesto. We bumble onward into the Future!

Leave a Reply

