Some brilliant young person . . .

David and technologyHi everyone,

Rats. I just sat down to write my post and everything about my setup has changed. Nothing looks familiar. So I know it’s much better for me. Somewhere some bright  young person has decided that I need to change something that wasn’t broken in order to improve my life through better technology, according to him or her. I am NOT having fun and I am NOT in a good mood! Thanks, brilliant young person.

I had fun a couple of days ago. I wrote a pantoum for kids. Not only that but I rhymed it. To save you from looking it up, the pantoum is kin to the villanelle in the sense that lines are repeated from stanza to stanza, but it’s a bit more complicated. In each new stanza the 2nd and 4th lines from the one preceding become the 1st and 3rd of the new one. Some pantoums rhyme but most don’t. I didn’t search long but didn’t spot any pantoum poems for young readers. If anyone knows of some we could read, that would be good. There may be many examples and I didn’t see them.

As I’ve said before, not all formal forms work well for young readers, but they’re always worth a try and make splendid exercises.

Ack! This new format is driving me nuts. I’m going to try this but have little faith that it’s going to turn out the way I expect it to.

 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 comments on “Some brilliant young person . . .

  1. It is now two steps to send a reply as well.

    Only pantoume I ever wrote completely is about being old so that won’t help. When done well, it’s a lovely form, but I find it very difficult. Even without rhyming.

    Jane

    • Good morning, Jane. I’ll look around some more today for examples for kids. There’s a site that states it includes children’s samples but I didn’t see any.

  2. Hi David,

    Did you mean to post your pantoum? If so, I don’t see it…

    The pantoum is one of my favorite forms! I have written three of them for younger readers, all rhyming, and one of which is coming out in an anthology this year. Another is in a manuscript I’m shopping around, so I can’t share it, and the third (the first one I ever wrote) is from the March Madness competition a few years ago. Admittedly, none are for REALLY young readers, but rather MG/YA.

    I have never, however, written a villanelle, which I find extremely challenging.

    Here’s the March Madness one, still in need of revision:

    HAPPY: a pantoum for a perfect day

    What manifestation of happy is this?
    Striding outside where grass greens my feet,
    dragonflies dart in snapdragony bliss—
    Morning and I promenade down the street.

    Striding outside, where grass greens my feet,
    I greet swooping bluebirds out-bluing the sky.
    Morning and I promenade down the street:
    we’re fluff of a milkweed, as soft as a sigh!

    I greet swooping bluebirds, out bluing the sky…
    “Tick tock!” whisper shadows as Sun pulls them long.
    Like fluff of a milkweed, as soft as a sigh,
    afternoon falls to the whippoorwill’s song.

    “Tick tock!” whisper shadows as Sun pulls them long.
    Dragonflies dart in snapdragony bliss.
    An afternoon falls to the whippoorwill’s song—
    what manifestation of happy is this!

  3. I’m late to reading this, David, but it’s fun to hear that you are writing this form. I used to teach it to my students, & have one small file with examples. I’ll send it to you via e-mail! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

