It pays to keep birthday cards

Hi everyone,

While I was gathering old posters to take to the basement, I discovered a wonderful birthday present I received from the students, staff, and faculty at “my” school in 2010. Think I’m going to part with it? Ha!
20160118_114706_resized_resized
Each class created a page in this poster-size book of wishes. It’s hard to think that Mrs. Fast’s and Mrs. Blankenship’s ECSE students are big kids now. I love their names and small handprints on the first two pages. What warm memories this gift brought back as I sat surrounded with litter all over the office, trying to sort and decide. The concluding poem (by an anonymous poet) reminded me of the diversity at Harrison and throughout our community. Here it is.

You’re getting another year older, it’s true,
But you don’t have to worry; please don’t be blue
We’ve written this card with our very own hands,
Hoping you smile when you get to the end.
At the card’s very bottom, you will find a small clue
To help figure out who wrote which parts for you.
From Mexico, China, Korea, Vietnam,
The Philippines, Laos, and Kyrgyzstan,
Romania, Russia and the Ukraine,
We send out best wishes again and again.
20160118_114728_resized_resized
Is that cool? A good many of the kids from 2010 have graduated from 5th grade and moved on to their next school, and some of the teachers are no longer there, but this freezes them in place for me to enjoy whenever I rediscover it. This time I’m going to put it where I think I’ll find it more often!

4 comments on “It pays to keep birthday cards

  1. I recently met a former student of mine who is 42 years old. She is an illustrator, middle aged and still filled with respect for her teacher. Also, although Korean is her first language, she unabashedly reads inspiration in my artwork; talk about “universal language”!

  2. ON days when I feel like a dried up old has been Vaseline sandwich, it sure does help looking at letters I’ve gotten from kids over the years, bless ’em.

    • Well if must that a Vaseline sandwich has little appeal so thank goodness you can be cheered by those wonderful kid letters!

Leave a Reply

