Announcing my poetry workshop

BULLETIN: I’m happy to announce that Jeanne Poland (New York) and Rosi Hollinbeck (California) are the first two to register for the workshop in August. Welcome back, Jeanne! Welcome for the first time, Rosi!

Hi everyone,

It’s now official that I’m conducting a poetry workshop at The Barn near Honesdale, Pennsylvania, August 21-24. Here’s the link. https://www.highlightsfoundation.org/workshops/how-do-poets-get-published-learning-what-it-takes-2016
Jeanne Poland and David
Please check it out and pass the word. I agreed to take 15-17 people and would like to see the session filled as early as possible so I’ll have plenty of time to get acquainted with the poets who plan to participate.
Ken Slesarik and David
My thanks to those poets who have attended my previous workshops for sharing their thoughts and making suggestions for the kind of event that will help the most. As a result I’ve introduced some new approaches and look forward to putting them into action.
smallDavidHarrisonPosterized
Here’s an introduction that will be sent out before long. I thought I’d share it with you in advance.

What Rhymes with Trombone?

My music teacher, Mr. Chester Moffatt, didn’t teach me to play the trombone; he showed me how. I learned to play it by practicing what he told me to do. First he showed me how to play the whole note f in bass clef. I practiced it 100 times each day until I learned it. There are seven letters in the musical alphabet and I learned them all the same way. Once I could handle the tools of the trade I was amazed by the endless combinations that became possible. The more Mr. Moffatt showed me how, the longer I practiced. By the time I was practicing up to 4 hours a night, I was first chair in high school band and orchestra, and Missouri All-State orchestra, and the Springfield symphony, and had two dozen students of my own. I started every one of them by showing how to play the whole note f in bass clef.

Learning to write poetry works the same way. No one can teach us to write a poem. They can show us how but we must do the learning by doing. He who would write free verse should learn to write verse. She who would write couplets should learn to write limericks, ballads, and villanelles. The more tools of the trade we master, the closer we come to writing a poem that brings together what we have learned with what we feel and have a passionate need to express. I think of poetry workshops as “Mr. Moffatt” for poets. As your teacher, I’ll show you how. As the writer, you’ll learn by doing. I hope to see you soon. You won’t need a trombone. A pencil works fine.

18 comments on “Announcing my poetry workshop

    • Good morning, Rosi. I’m delighted that you’ve signed up for the workshop. We’ll have a fine time at The Barn. We always do!

Leave a Reply

