Rerun

Hi everyone,
Jane Yolen
If you missed it yesterday, Jane Yolen and I amused ourselves ripping off quick poems about my turtle problem. Then at the end of the day I discovered that yesterday was World Turtle Day! So with apologies to turtles everywhere who might have found our fun and games offensive, here again is what we had to say. David from 417 Magazine

May 23, 2016 @ 7:43 am
Tortoise and Hare (for DH)

Turtles, turtles everywhere
Except when you’ve a camera there.
You click the button, turn it on.
You look around, the turtles–gone.

You wanted pictures you could share.
But much too slow, the Harrison hare.
While you were sighting from the lawn
The tortoises were going–gone!

xxxJane

Reply

May 23, 2016 @ 8:25 am

Tortoise and Hare, Part II

No matter how I creep and sneak
To steal a wily turtle peek,
They hit the water in a flash,
Leaving me to snap their splash.

Turtles, turtles everywhere
Living life without a care
While pictureless and helplessly
I listen to them laugh at me.

XO

Reply

May 23, 2016 @ 1:01 pm

Tortois and Hare Part !!!

Who IS that creature up above?
I want to give it SUCH a shove
Always peeking, sneaking, staring,
Always nasty teeth it’s baring.

Always flashing bits of lightning,
Always makes our small heart tightening.
Thinks we’re slow? Ha! That’s HIS wish.
But when we’re scared, we swim like fish.

The Tortoises

May 23, 2016 @ 1:30 pm

Tortoise and Hare, Part IV

No need to bow or genuflect
But you should show me more respect.
More than once I’ve saved some fool
Baby turtle in my pool.

I stop to help you cross the street
When you’re out being indiscreet.
Now I beg you, if you will,
For just one second — sit still!

XO

May 23, 2016 @ 1:50 pm

Tortoise and Hare Part V

That flash-and-dash man here again?
To capture us by pix or pen?
Well, like the hare, he’s gone tomorrow.
That will cause no tortoise sorrow.

He should read that Aesop’s fable
Soon as he is at his table.
There’s no race that he can win
If he is not a turtle kin!

xxxJane
(And kids, that’s how we old poets win the races,
steady and not so slow!)

Reply

May 23, 2016 @ 2:14 pm

Tortoise and Hare Part VI

I’m going to buy a selfie stick
To snap a shot of you so quick
You’ll see your game is all in vain.
I’m smarter than a turtle-brain.

I’m going to use my high I.Q.
To make a monkey out of you.
Surrender now and try to grin.
This one race I’m going to win.

Reply

May 23, 2016 @ 2:31 pm

Hare and Tortoise Part VII

“David, David, come inside.”
“Very soon my blushing bride.
I have one thing more to click
With my handy selfie stick.”

“Jane is on the phone for you.
A message–something you must do.”
He sighs. The sun is going down.
They have a dinner date in town.

What can she want? And which Jane? Who?
Picks up the phone. “What must I do?”
“The turtles called the cops on you.
Best stay away a day or two.”

“Do you hear sirens? Do they wail?
The cops might put you into jail.
A predator they’re calling you.
(The tortoise taught us something new.)

He throws the stick into the lake
And runs back home, he makes his break.
He swears off taking turtle pics
And using things like selfie sticks.

He works in tortoise rehab now.
Takes only snaps of sheep and cow
Who preen each time that he comes near.
Next week he’s photographing deer.

xxxJane

Reply

May 23, 2016 @ 2:56 pm

Tortoise and Hare Part VIII

Turtle rehab? Who would guess
I’d like it here, but I confess
I owe my gratitude to Jane
For saving me the awful pain

Of rotting in a prison cell
For coveting a turtle shell.
I’m growing fond of cows and sheep
And only now and then I weep

And pray for mercy for my sins.
I dream of wicked turtle grins.
The truth is, and I won’t lie,
I’d really like just one more try.

Reply

May 23, 2016 @ 2:58 pm

The End.

16 comments on “Rerun

  1. Great fun by great poets! Thanks for getting my day off to a good start. And now: Turtles, turtles everywhere?
    I stand and gape and gawk and stare.
    No turtles here, no turtles there.
    A photo, please, for proof to share.

    • Pat!!! Where have you been and how are you and what are you doing and are you drinking your milk and eight glasses of water every day and flossing after meals and reading good books and writing even better ones? XOXO!!

Leave a Reply

