Placing the blame on Steven Withrow

BULLETIN: I’ve finished my Italian Sonnet but have decided to wait until tomorrow (Sunday) to post. Builds suspense, don’t you know.

Hi everyone,
20150926_104710
I started work on an Italian Sonnet (also called Petrarchan) today and it’s Steven Withrow’s fault.steven_withrow He shared with me a delightful, well-turned example of his own and I immediately wanted to write one too. If I can finish my poem by tomorrow, I’ll post it then. Otherwise, I’ll share it when I can.

Ground rules for this form include writing the first eight lines (Octave) rhyming ABBA ABBA. The first four lines introduce the subject and the second four expound or interject an issue or problem.

The remaining six lines (sestet) of an Italian Sonnet are presented with a different rhyme pattern, which can vary. Mine will rhyme CDEDCE. These lines comment on the problem or offer a solution.

My subject is the honeybee. Wish me luck.

9 comments on “Placing the blame on Steven Withrow

  1. How about this one for you, David

    The little honeybee has buzz.
    A taste for something sweet and runny,
    Like a clown, she seems quite funny.
    Body’s mostly stripes and fuzz.
    She’s looking as she always does.
    When she sells her cache of honey,
    Her golden glow, bespeaks of money.
    Why do we love her—just because.

    But ask the little bending flower
    Who gives up her hard-earned pollen
    Whether she feels raped and fallen,
    Or is filled with certain power.
    There she is, all pollen laden
    Virgin, violet violated.
    By a bee much recreated,
    Set aside, nor more a maiden.

    • It serves me right for sleeping in, Jane. But I’ll catch up before the day’s out. Thank you for the lively example! XO

  2. Remember, Jeanne–I wrote an entire book of sonnets–THE RADIATION SONNETS. Its all about getting those sonnet muscles back. (Though I especially like falling into the line “virgin violet violated” which just (um) sort of happened.)

    Jane still in Scotland and on THAT time.

Leave a comment