Turtle at last

Hi everyone,

As you know I’ve tried in vain to sneak up on the basking turtles at the foot of our yard. Yesterday I looked out at our driveway and lo and behold a turtle was making her way toward the street on her way, I’m sure, to find a soft flowerbed somewhere in which to lay her eggs.20160627_091105_resized There wasn’t much she could do but tolerate me as I walked in slow circles around her. She posed for me but I must say that her smile was less than enthusiastic.20160627_091129_001_resized I identified her as a red eared slider even though the strip running up her face is green. But her carapace (shell) doesn’t look like a slider shell to me and makes me wonder if she might be what is called a western pond turtle. Still to be determined.20160627_091202_resized

15 comments on “Turtle at last

    • Dang it, Buffy, now why did you go and spoil my fun? I think you are right. It looks like a western painted turtle. Sigh. I was so close to making news in the TURTLEOLOGY GAZETTE.

  1. David’s Turtle

    At first I thought she was a slider
    Looking for a place to nest
    But the green was the decider.
    “Pond,” I said aloud, “is best.”

    I worked in circles round about her,
    Gathering my facts to test,
    But then I found I had to doubt her.
    Categories need a rest.

    “Maybe she’s a Painted Turtle,”
    I decided, with some zest.
    “They are notably quite fertile,
    Gazing at my gravid guest.

    Passions dimming, no not Painted,
    Maybe Red earred, Maybe she. . .
    I’ll be- canonized and sainted.
    They will name her after me!

    Maybe I should DNA her,
    That would tell me what I’ve got,
    But she’s. . .gone! I can’t display her.
    This is harder than I thought,

    But not done yet, I’ll get naming
    If not turtles, possibly
    ‘Cause I’m old and I’m quite gamy
    They’ll name fossils after me.

    ©2016 Jane Yolen all rights reserved

    Sent with love,

    Jane

  2. Thanks!

    Maybe I should DNA her,
    That would tell me what I’ve got.
    But she’s. . .gone ! I can’t display her.
    This is harder than I thought.

    But not done yet, I’ll get naming
    If not turtles, possibly
    ‘Cause I’m old and I’m quite gamy
    They’ll name fossils after me.

    A bit better?

    (Folks David and I have written–though not sold yet–a book of poems and are used to “helping by editing” one another. Don’t try this at home!

    Jane

    • Nailed it, dear Jane. Thanks for the tweaking. Turtles love tweaking. And one of these days may our book find a home! XO

Leave a Reply

