Word of the month for July is . . .

Hi everyone,

I slept in until 9:15! Now that’s what I call a great start to the first day of goo foffing.

But lest you think I forgot, here’s the Word of the Month word for July. ESCAPE. I wonder what all you genius poets will do with this one. Ready, set, go!

As for me, I think I’ll have another cup of coffee. Or a nap.

David

8 comments on “Word of the month for July is . . .

  1. The World So Hot

    I remember summers in New York,
    the world so hot,
    we sat on the fire escape.

    The boom box we brought
    with us, songs on tape,
    much laughter, talk.

    Perspiration at the nape.
    Air conditioning then? Not
    even in the cards. The cork

    of the wine bottle shot
    into the street below. Its torque
    carrying it through the cityscape

    where the world remained so, so hot.

    ©2016 Jane Yolen all rights reserved

    • Thank you, Jane. I love the poem. My childhood summers, in hot sticky Missouri and hot dry Arizona had different backdrops and yet your poem awakened memories of my own. XO

      • Here you go, Jane. This is a fun format!

        The Summer I was Hot

        My mother made the most amazing cape
        To help me capture villains that I fought
        Who didn’t know that I was only four.

        She sewed it with material she bought
        That gave me strength and confidence to roar.
        I knew if necessary I’d escape

        Because of all the magic that I wore.
        Hidden in my secret cave I’d plot
        A plan so clever all the crooks would gape

        When suddenly I’d fly and they’d be caught.
        I’d tie their hands and feet with Super Tape
        And tell the cops they’d find them on the floor.

        I was four the summer I was hot.
        ~~ by David L. Harrison

  2. Unlike you and Jane, I can’t think up a poem on the spot…it’s a major mining operation and I may have to send in a canary first. Hope to write one this month. A friend told me she really liked my WATER poems and suggested I try putting together a collection…she obviously has grander plans and a more unrealistic view of my talents, or lack thereof.

  3. IS IT A SESTINA, IS IT A TRITINA?
    NO, IT’S A “JANE”

    I’ve read the July verse composed by Jane
    And wondered what the form she’d used could be.
    But all of my research has come to naught.

    There’s many ways to combine ABC.
    Hers cannot be a new way I’d have thought.
    I’ll have to look on Google once again.

    An hour has passed, my nerves are getting fraught,
    My brain a jumble B.C.A.C.B.
    A.A.A.A. … oh, now I’ve gone insane

    I’ll have to call the search off and agree,
    She’s found a new form, let’s call it a “Jane”
    I’ll press the escape button to abort.

    And now I’ll go and make a cup of tea.

    • Excellent addition to the conversation, friend Bryn! Thank you for your rhythmic investigation and poetic report.

Leave a Reply

