Asilomar conference next year

Hi everyone,

I’ve accepted an invitation from The Language Arts Conference at Asilomar in California for October, 2017. Here’s a link to this year’s conference. http://www.curriculumstudy.org .
merrill-hall-exterior_1_1000x667
I’ll lead a poetry workshop with sessions on Friday through Sunday and give a Saturday evening talk of an hour or so. Thanks to my old and good friend, Ruth Nathan, for extending the invitation. The last time I spoke there, Billy Collins gave readings from his work which, of course, drew a crowd.
chapel-interior_hero
Next year’s keynote speaker is Pedro Noguera from NYU, another good draw. http://steinhardt.nyu.edu/faculty/Pedro_Noguera .The conference theme is Equity.

David

4 comments on “Asilomar conference next year

  1. I attended that conference almost all the years I was teaching. It is the best conference I could imagine for English teachers. I often think back to those as real highlights in each school year. Maybe I will go next year. I often met retired teachers there. It’s such a beautiful place and such a well-constructed conference. They are lucky to have you there.

    • Good morning, Rosi. It’s a fine conference and the backdrop is wonderful. I’m already looking forward to returning to it. If you go, it will be good to see you there.

  2. Congratulations. Asilomar isn’t one of my most favorite places in the world. I hope you get the chance to go hiking at Pt. Lobos and eat at Abalone Ettie’s on the Monterey Peir.

    • Hi Joy. I’ll do my best but I’m afraid I won’t have much spare time. I don’t think that Sandy is going but we’ll probably hook up before or after to do something, maybe take a cruise.

Leave a Reply

