If you can’t laugh at yourself . . .

Hi everyone,

Yesterday morning’s adventure:

1. My phone stopped working two nights ago. It rings once and then Verizon Wireless (or something) ends the call. I was going to take the phone in yesterday morning but didn’t get a chance to because:
2. I fixed Bloody Mary’s and brought them to the living room. Sandy had stepped outside to pluck dead blossoms from the hibiscus plants. I followed her out to take her drink and closed the door behind me. When I heard the click I knew we were in trouble. Sandy sometimes forgets to turn off the lock. I always double check her. Yesterday morning I didn’t. Her phone was inside. I was in my pajamas. No key. Locked out.
3. Our neighbor across the street is out of town. She has no key but would have let us in to use a phone, and Sandy needed a restroom.
4. I texted Robin. She tried to call but of course that didn’t work. I texted that we needed her key. My messages weren’t making sense to her.
5. I texted grandson Kris. At first he didn’t get it either. I had a fine time trying to get through that we were locked out and needed them to bring their key.
6. Sandy and I both tried again to get our garage keypad to work. It hasn’t worked in ages. Still doesn’t.
7. Kris and his dad were out working together. He and Tim went home, got the spare key, and started our way. We didn’t know it yet.
8. Robin finally responded that the guys were on their way just as they walked around the corner with the key.
9. I tried to put the key into the lock on a patio door. The key didn’t work. Sandy insisted that it was the right key. She tried it in every door on the back.
10. I kept saying it was not the right key. Pajama-clad, I took the key around to the front door. It didn’t fit that lock either.
11. Back to the back yard. I sent Jeff a text in Oregon about the keypad to see if he had some ideas.
12. At that moment Sandy walked out onto the patio and waved and laughed.
13. I asked her how the $#^@ she got inside.
14. The front door had been unlocked the whole time. When Sandy went over to feed our neighbor’s cat that morning, she didn’t think to lock the door when she came home.

And that, friends, is how we spent much of our Saturday morning.

20 comments on “If you can’t laugh at yourself . . .

  1. The Tale of the Key

    Front door, back
    they’re all the same.
    When keys go missing,
    its’ a game.

    They’re in cahoots.
    They hide themselves
    in doors, in fridge,
    upon top shelves.

    They wait till you
    are in deep doo-doo
    having tried
    your human voodoo

    to recover key
    or mind.
    And then–oh dear–
    that’s when you find

    the door was open
    all the while,
    What can you do?
    Sit down and smile.

    xxxxbeen there, done that, Jane

    • Jane, this will teach me not to oversleep when you’re awake and working! Thank you for the delightful keepsake to remind me to check that lock! I love it! XO

  2. I imagine we all have some sort of story like this, so funny, but with that sinking feeling! My daughter locked herself out once, in pajamas! A stranger came along (in a car) & took her to her husband so she could get a key. We still laugh about that one. Sounds as if you might need another bloody Mary!

    • Your poor daughter! Glad she had a happy ending. Tell her next time to check the front door. Apparently it’s always unlocked.

    • Nah, we got a few chores done, packed, and drove to Bentonville, Arkansas to meet a friend and go through Crystal Bridges Museum again. I’m typing this propped up in bed after coffee and muffin from room service.

  3. I had a similar experience with my car ( a hatchback) when I locked the keys inside. Lots of people had ideas about how to get in; bits of wire to spring the lock etc.. Nothing worked so we called the breakdown service. An hour later, he turned up, found the tailgate was unlocked, crawled in and retrieved the keys. Red faces all round

Leave a Reply

