Waiting for work

REMINDER: Kathy Temean reminds that you have until October 2 to enter her giveaway of a copy of my book, NOW YOU SEE THEM, NOW YOU DON’T. Here again is the link:https://kathytemean.wordpress.com/2016/09/20/book-giveaway-david-harrison

Hi everyone,

Any day now Mary Jo Fresch and I expect to hear from our editor on the new Scholastic book we’re writing for Teacher Resources. Once we get her comments we can pick up where we left off with the proposal and set our sights on finishing within the next few months.
dhl-and-mjf
While waiting I’ve finished a nonfiction poetry picture book and written the first 22 chapters of a new middle grade novel. That one needs a rest so I hope to see Scholastic come through soon. If it doesn’t, well, tomorrow I’ll work on something else.

Meanwhile I’ve received an extremely helpful review and comments from a Peruvian reader of my middle grade story, DOWNRIVER, set in the Amazon. Three other Peruvian readers have also agreed to vet the story for me so when I return to it I’ll have what I need to make the story backdrop as accurate as possible.

You might remember that this was my first effort at a long story (since waaaaay back in my yute), but it was something different to try and appealed to me. I don’t know if I’ll ever get it sold, but if I don’t it won’t be for lack of effort to get it right. I like my files to have “class junk” in them.

Leave a Reply

