The Word of the Month for October

Hi everyone,
David from 417 Magazine
I’m glad I showed up for work yesterday. Had a slow start but got in a groove before long and the writing flowed well. You never know.

And here we are at October’s door and time for a new Word of the Month Poetry Challenge word. This is our seventh anniversary without missing a month since 2009. Therefore, let the word be EXERCISE because writing W.O.M. poems is a good way to stretch and keep fit.

I like special dates like this one and hope we’ll see a lot of poets join the celebration during the month. Looking forward to seeing your brainchildren,

David

6 comments on “The Word of the Month for October

  1. Congratulations on 7 great years of WOM poems! I vow to EXERCISE my poetry muscles, which have gotten flabby over the last couple of months despite my best intentions. Thank you for creating this forum, David, and for encouraging and teaching us.

  2. I’m so happy I stumbled onto your blog and I’ve enjoyed following you now for a couple of months. Love the WOM poems. Last month was my first experience. Looking forward to this month’s challenge. Since January 2016, exercise and food portion control helped me lose 30 pounds. I intend to use this experience in my poem. Wish me luck!

    • Wow! I wish you MUCH luck, Beverly! That’s an impressive record already. I need to borrow some of your self control. I’m delighted that you’ve started dropping over to leave your thoughts and now your poems. Looking forward to more of both.

  3. Excuse, Excess, Exercise, Exist

    1.
    I laid excuses like a rug.
    The more I ate, the deeper dug.
    The more I dug, the more I ate.
    I scraped the flowers off the plate.

    2.
    My excess was recorded far.
    My girth grew wider than a star.
    My star it faded as I grew.
    I bit off more than I could chew.

    3.
    My last resort was exercise.
    (I guess that came as no surprise.)
    The more I strained, the more I stretched,
    Yes, I complained, and yes I kvetched.

    4.
    But got into my former jeans
    That long remained beyond my means.
    The E’s meant I could not resist:
    Excuse, Excess, Exercise–Exist!

    ©2016 Jane Yolen all rights reserved

    • Jane, I just got home. What a treat. Thanks for putting this exercise thing into clear perspective. It gives me food for thought. More anon.

Leave a Reply

