Sometimes fun things happen

Hi everyone,
David giving brief remarks
Got off to a good start yesterday. My first e-mail was from India, from a publisher that is including me in an upcoming English school textbook. The very next one came from a publisher in France saying that a copy of their new textbook (Password literature 1ere/tle) that includes me was going out in the mail. The third one was from an editor responding helpfully to a question I’d recently sent. I had lots of good and interesting conversations throughout the day, but rarely does business come in one-two-three, especially from three countries and so early in the morning.

The rest of the day was hit and miss. I took a writing pad to my doctor’s office, but he took me right away. I took it for my fourth trip to the car agency where I sat long enough to sketch in a poem that I really like, and it makes #13 in a group that seems to be growing more or less on its own. Errands later I arrived home in time to pinch out a few more words, content that all in all it had been a good day.

4 comments on “Sometimes fun things happen

  1. Pinching Out a Poem: A Few Thoughts

    Being a miser with words,
    squeezing each one till it squeaks,
    I parcel out a poem.

    Like a mole with her worms,
    I choose the juiciest
    from my underground larder.

    King MIdas did not know
    how to throw gold away.
    Sometimes silver is better.

    Who knew a hoard
    could weigh so much.
    Time to pinch and pitch my words.

    ©2016 Jane Yolen all rights reserved

  2. Glad to hear things are going well for you, David! I’m sorry I haven’t been around much lately, but time is so tight I try to use every spare moment to write – either manuscripts or cover letters – and with only 2-3 hours available each day, there’s not a lot of wiggle room! I do try to keep on top of what’s happening with my friends, though…so congrats on your daily successes!

    • Good morning, Matt, and thank you for coming by. I know you keep busy and continue to make your own successes so I follow those with interest too. As always, it’s a pleasure to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

