Snail race

Hi everyone,

I moved a concrete rabbit and found eleven snails beneath it. They dashed off snail-like in all directions. 20161015_152359_resized20161015_155709_001_resized20161015_160343_resized20161015_163700_resized20161015_160405_resized20161015_164005_resized20161015_165226_resized

13 comments on “Snail race

  1. The Snail Race

    We know snails are a sluggish race.
    They live lives at a ponderous pace.
    Lazily they eat their food.
    Measured is their every mood.

    They never have a fight or flight.
    They always act as day is night.
    They sleep-walk through each waking hour,
    Taking baths, but never shower.

    And at each starting line they go:
    Get ready, set, and now we go. . .
    slooooow.

    ©2016 Jane Yolen all rights reserved

  2. I wish that I could move so slow,
    But off to school I rush and go!
    Chasing kids from left to right,
    Then dragging slowly home at night.

    • It’s not the way of sweet, sweet Su
      To poke along as pokey snails do.
      No, she’s here, she’s there,
      With kids + books everywhere.

      • LOL! I’m glad to finally be home and see my “just for me” poem written by the wonderful Cheryl! And guess what – I got to help in the school library today because the librarian was sick! A fun day, and I even got to read a book by Claudia Mills while I was there!! ( really can’t remember if I ate lunch today, but I got to READ!!)

  3. Revision!

    I wish that I could move snail slow,
    But off to school I rush and go!
    Chasing kids from left to right,
    Then snail’s pace slowly home at night.

Leave a Reply

