My November Word of the Month poem

Hi everyone,
20161102_172828_resized
Shhh

“Don’t tell a soul,”
I say sincerely,
meaning you’re
the tenth I’ve told,
knowing with
my trusted friends
my secret will be
cheaply sold
to every friend
they know or will,
admonishing,
“Don’t tell a soul,”
until each friend
is out of friends
and only then,
if truth be told,
my secret will be
safe at last,
no need to say,
“Don’t tell a soul.”

by David L. Harrison

7 comments on “My November Word of the Month poem

  1. yup, if you wanna keep a secret only tell it to yourself
    or to Mr. & Mrs. Bigfoot and their little elf. (imaginary creatures: get it?)

  2. Soul v Sole v Sol

    Something deep inside,
    Something far down under,
    Something big and wide,
    Something we must ponder.

    All supporting life
    As we humans know it.
    Soul v Sole v sole–
    Want it in my obit.

    ©2016 Jane Yolen all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

