Not every day is a winner

Hi everyone,
20150926_104710
I’ve been enjoying your “soul” poems this month and hope to see others posted during our final week or so. Thanks to all who join the Word of the Month Poetry Challenge each month.

If you have a story about your involvement with libraries, please don’t forget to send it to me so I can include it next Tuesday in our final episode this month of WRITERS AT WORK.

I had a fine time at this year’s Children’s Literature Festival of the Ozarks. Nearly 3,000 children were there to hear fourteen authors and artists. My voice was hoarse by the end of the day but it was all fun and Byron Biggers Band performed several numbers during the evening signing party and program.

Yesterday was not a good writing day. It was supposed to be. Should have been. I had twelve hours without interruption and a new project to work on. Still, I was sluggish and what I wrote was uninspired. I know that I’ll have to redo almost everything I wrote, but at least it was a start. For better or worse I got something down. Today I’ll see if a full night’s rest will bring me back to work with sharper ideas.

Happy day before Thanksgiving everyone,

David

4 comments on “Not every day is a winner

  1. WELL, it sounds like you spent your day engaged in the process,, & I would bet that was just THE sort of day you spent many, many another day in the past wishing you could have rather than what you were having to do. so yippee! now here’s another day, dear Dave, & on we go. AND what a blast, talking to those little kids at that little festival + getting to be w/ the best of old book biz buddies

    • You are so right! I waited most of a lifetime to be able to do what I’m doing so I’m glad for each and every day. I loved seeing you, dear friend, as well as other old pals and, of course, those bright young kids waving their hands in the air to ask questions.

  2. You did a whole lot more today than I did. Give yourself a pat on the back for sticking to it and have yourself a lovely Thanksgiving. One of the things I am thankful for this year is having been to your workshop and having met you.

    • Rosi, thank you. I appreciate your comments very much. We DID have a good workshop, didn’t we? Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours too.

Leave a Reply

