Beginning my Word of the Month poem

BULLETIN: I finished the first draft at 9:50. I’ll be ready to post tomorrow.

Hi everyone,
20161019_143012
Here’s the format I’ll work with today for the Curtal sonnet.
/////a
/////b
/////c
/////a
/////b
/////c

/////d
/////c
/////b
/////d
//c

The rules will require me to include five stressed syllables in each line so I’ve indicated them here. I’m allowed as many unstressed syllables as needed so I have not included them in this schematic. The a rhyme will appear two times. The b rhyme will appear three times, the c rhyme four times, and the d rhyme twice. Feel free to join me with one of your own if you like.

2 comments on “Beginning my Word of the Month poem

    • Kathy, I was going to post my poem tomorrow, but just got new that I want to share so I’ll postpone the poem until Wednesday. The rhyme scheme is a little tricky with this format and may be more evident when read aloud. I don’t have any examples of this form being adapted for young children.

Leave a Reply

