My December Word of the Month poem

Hi everyone,
david-speaking-1-16-14
Here’s my December poem told in a Curtal sonnet.

Making it for Mom

Back in the 50s they called it junior high.
In 8th grade I took a class called shop.
I knew little about tools but I could draw.
I approached the coming experience with many a sigh,
Totally intimidated by the backdrop
Of machinery pounding, grinding, the shriek of saw.

First we had to imagine, visualize,
And draw what we hoped to make without a flaw.
Too bad I couldn’t draw it and then stop.
My glue-smeared ice bucket was no prize.
But mom said, “Awe.”

(c) David L. Harrison

10 comments on “My December Word of the Month poem

  1. Love your poem, and it brought back memories! I took “shop” in junior high as well – the first year our school let girls do this! Loved that class! (and watch out when I get around power tools! Ha!)

Leave a Reply

