Thinking California

Hi everyone,

I don’t go to Asilomar until next October but already I have deadlines to meet. Yesterday and today I’ve been working on titles and descriptions, which is always hard for me when I haven’t yet pulled together my notes for what I’ll do and say.
David at David Harrison Day
One of my duties will be to conduct a poetry workshop over three days. Attendees will mostly be teachers, grades 4-8, and they will also be involved in other activities. I’ll see them for a total of 6 1/2 hours so I need to think through what I can hope to accomplish in that time frame. My working title is “Teaching Core Subjects with Poetry.”

I’ll also give a talk on Saturday night for K-college so I need title and description for that too. I’m making progress but not there quite yet. This year’s theme is “Excellence Through Equity: From a Powerful Vision to Everyday Reality.” The keynote speaker will be Pedro Noguera, Distinguished Professor of Education at the Graduate School of Education and Information Studies at UCLA.

If you live out that way or know someone who does and might be interested in learning more about the conference, here’s a link to the one this year: http://www.curriculumstudy.org/ Next year’s isn’t up yet but some dynamite speakers are on tap.

6 comments on “Thinking California

    • Hi Jane. Hope you have a good day on tap. It’s brrr cold here. Thank you for your kind comment. I hope you’re right!

Leave a Reply

