Avoiding cold feet

Hi everyone,

When the sun comes up over ice, you get a different perspective because ice is a better reflector than water. I won’t bombard you with sunrises but yesterday’s was splendid.
20161219_070808_resized

Later in the day I went grocery shopping and when I stopped at a residential intersection, I noticed a crow sitting calmly on the ground and not inclined to be bothered by my car stopped a few yards away. It looked like a pedestrian waiting to cross. Down came my window and up went my phone camera. 20161218_135534_resized On my return trip the bird was gone so I pulled up and took a picture of where it had been.
20161218_135609_resized

I know that crows are smart and this one gave me an example. Either the air beneath that cover was warmer than the ambient temperature, or the metal suited its feet more than the surrounding patches of snow. Either way I was impressed.

The crafty crow can be quite canny
Finding ways to warm its fanny.

22 comments on “Avoiding cold feet

  1. I love sunrises as well. I don’t have a “goose lake” to watch the sun reflect over, but the colors that play in the sky are enough to drop my jaw. Thanks for sharing this. And I don’t see many crows out here, but the blue jays and woodpeckers are tremendously entertaining at our feeders. Janine

    On Tuesday, December 20, 2016, Children’s Author David L. Harrison’s Blog wrote:

    > davidlharrison posted: “Hi everyone, When the sun comes up over ice, you > get a different perspective because ice is a better reflector than water. I > won’t bombard you with sunrises but yesterday’s was splendid. Later in the > day I went grocery shopping and when I stopped ” >

    • Good morning, Janine,

      I love sunsets but sunrises always seem filled with promises of a new day so I like them better. We have a small population of woodpeckers around here but the jays will come screaming from everywhere if an owl gets after their young.

  2. This crow’s content – he wants to play!
    He’ll search for warmth another way.

    I can hardly wait for tomorrow’s post! Have a great day, David!

  3. He could sneak inside – that’s what he’ll do!
    (please note, of course, there will be poo!)

    Sorry – had to do it! LOL!

    • Have fun with the kids, Susan. I know you always do. Maybe they’ll find it interesting that adults like to “play” with words too.

  4. I enjoyed your picture essay. Several children’s books on the subject. I have one (non-fiction) somewhere. I have a story about one and my dad from my childhood. I had a murder of crows in my yard and when I returned with my camera they were gone. I LOVE Nature. Excuse all the I’s and the word my.

  5. I was a bit bored at lunch today, and thinking about that smart crow of yours, David, got me to doodling and playing with words….

    The crow took flight, thought he was cool,
    and followed Mrs. H to school.
    Learned English Lit and bits of math,
    then started down a slippery path.
    Chatted too much and raised his voice,
    forced Mrs. H to make a choice.
    “Go back outside,” her voice was stern.
    “This is no place for crows to learn!”
    “I know it’s cold, but life is tough.
    So shoo! Be gone! I’ve had enough!”

    • Susan, we just got home from Christmas stuff so I’m sitting here enjoying your handiwork and having a good chuckle. Sandy will love it too. She’s in the kitchen with our kids but I’ll be sure she sees your poem before she goes to bed. W00t! And thanks!

      • Good job, Sweet Su!

        I heard the CAW! CAW! CAW!
        Well before I looked & saw –
        There they are! I see them now:
        Mouthy birds on the highest bough.
        They see me & their beaks all say,
        CAW! CAW! CAW! And they fly away.

      • Cheryl – I just now saw your poem! Rachel just walked in the door, and I was sharing all the “adult fun” that we have with David’s blogs! She thinks it’s great – honestly! (gotta love that smart daughter o’ mine!)

Leave a Reply

