Living with metaphors

Hi everyone,

Thanks for joining me in my groove yesterday. I still owe a couple of responses and will get to them shortly. First I need to share something today — as soon as I think of something to say. It’s one of those, “Hi everyone,” then sit back and hope for inspiration mornings.

How about a metaphor growing in my kitchen? One of the orchids is in the process of blooming. It started a couple of weeks ago with one bud. Over a few days it added five others.20170101_143018_resized_1 I’ve taken pictures as each new blossom slowly formed, opened degree by degree, and suddenly burst forth. I’ve never seen the actual blooming occur. Have you? 20170104_193824_resized
The opening of the blossom must happen rather quickly, when something within the plant senses its moment has come. I find myself comparing these events to human experiences — coming of age, developing relationships. 20170109_205821_resized So what will it be this time? This orchid, the gift of an old friend, has been blooming now and again for years. What am I to learn from it this time? Am I watching a family grow? A class of students? Young artists developing their skills? 20170112_063919_resized Or is it just a flower after all, exquisite, more than all its parts, a gift to my eye and an inspiration to be taken or not, as I choose?

6 comments on “Living with metaphors

  1. Can it not just be itself? The orchid, like all living things other than humans, has its own integral part to play it the world, though it may be oblivious to what that purpose is. Sometimes we attach meaning to what is simply the process of life moving forward. That is why we humans are so unique and lovely and unlovely all at the same time.

    • I agree, Janine, that first and only it’s a plant, and humans alone make something out of that. In college I focused far more on zoology than botany and these days I wish I had broadened my scope of interests at the time. I know something about the biology behind those delicate petals, stamens, pistils, and stalks, but I also draw pleasure from gazing beyond them into a world invented by a partnership of their plantness and my humanness.

  2. I’ve never seen an orchid open, but if you get a night-blooming cereus and stay up late, you can watch the magic over and over! My mom used to have several. (you piqued my interest and there are several orchid blooming time lapse videos!)

Leave a Reply

