A lot of bull….

Hi everyone,

Let me show you something. img_20161228_145614196 Yep, it’s a charmer and a snake. She’s Jennifer Harrison, my daughter-in-law. The serpent is a Missouri eight foot long bull snake. It resides not far from Branson in a case at Dogwood Canyon’s Old Mill Museum, and it has a personality. Not that Jennifer doesn’t because she has personality galore. But I want to tell you about the snake.

It only likes prepared food. Catching your own is so, like, primitive. It also requires that its food be served hot or not at all. Forget the rules, it sulks. Otherwise it’s the exhibit’s chief greeter and entertainer, as you can see on Jennifer’s face. Had you gone around behind Jennifer’s back as I did, the snake looked pretty happy too.

And why, you ask, is Jennifer not afraid of the snake? She teaches 4th grade, man. What’s left to be afraid of???

8 comments on “A lot of bull….

  1. My, your daughter-in-law is brave! 4th graders. That’s scary. I taught high school because I wanted to be able to look them in the eye. Even at that, it was a little scary, but 4th graders??? I’d probably take the snakes.

  2. Sorry: A True Story

    Sorry, snakes just creep me out,
    no matter who commends them.
    A snake slithers through the grasses
    Does not break, but bends them.

    Every time I see grass part,
    My heart breaks up a little.
    Something grabs me by the throat
    And also round the middle.

    And yes, I touched a boa once,
    It was not bright nor gaudy.
    I raced outside the room before
    I threw up on his body.

    ©2017 Jane Yolen all rights reserved

  3. Here’s one from SOMEBODY CATCH MY HOMEWORK. See, Jane, they’re just playful.

    Show and Tell

    Billy brought his snake to school
    For show and tell today.

    “This snake belongs to me,”
    he said,
    “It’s gentle as can be,”
    he said,
    “It wouldn’t hurt a flea,”
    he said,

    But it swallowed him anyway.

    (c) by David L. Harrison

  4. Saw lots of snakes at the San Diego Zoo yesterday…..and lots of students on field trips, as well. I prefer the kids! Ha! (although snakes behind glass aren’t too bad.)

Leave a Reply

