Home again

Hi everyone,
4,150 miles later, we’re home again. Some of the driving was in Arizona but most of it was in Florida between here and Miami. Lots of think time while driving. I know how I need to rewrite the ending of the desert story now so that’s job one. I’ve thought through another story I’ve been working on and decided it isn’t going to make it in its present form. I don’t have a fix yet but one will come. A new story started taking shape in my mind a few days back so I look forward to getting it down before long.

The picture is an areal view of Bella Vita in Santa Rosa Beach, Florida. Our condo is on the first floor, far left, of the building along the back. We only stayed there one night going and one night returning because the building is currently being repaired for structural damage and swarms of men with jack hammers were removing the outer surface when we were there.

Thank you for the poems you posted while I was away and for your comments when I was able to post something. It’s good to be home. I look forward to catching up over the next few days.

David

14 comments on “Home again

  1. Welcome heart, the home
    beats surely in your breast,
    the poem sits on your tongue,
    the pillow greets your rest.

    The windows mirror out,
    but hearth is here to stay.
    Welcome heart, the home
    relaxes as you stay.

    xxxJane

    • With Thanks to Jane

      To home and hearth at last,
      and lake that has no peer.
      To bills in baskets stacked
      and taxes crowding near.

      To weeds, those early knaves,
      and barren pantry shelves.
      But love for home is here.
      We cannot help ourselves.

      XO
      David

  2. OOOPS: Trying again

    Welcome heart, the home
    beats surely in your breast,
    the poem sits on your tongue,
    the pillow greets your rest.

    The windows mirror out,
    but hearth is here to say.
    Welcome heart, the home
    relaxes as you stay.

    xxxJane

  3. Welcome home David. A writer’s life, working stories, poems, in their heads before words march across paper. I am doing this with queries. I love it Jane, the way you spit out poems. Have a great day.

    • Thank you, Mary Nida. It’s good to be home. And you’re right about the writer’s head. There’s always something going on up there, especially on long road trips.

  4. Welcome home. Today’s takeaway: “I don’t have a fix yet but one will come.” Move ahead in that faith!

    • Thank you, Jane. I always do, and one always comes. It may not always be the best one, but something will come. (:>

    • Hey Larry! Believe me, I’ve been eager to get back in harness. This was the longest I’ve gone without working since I can remember. Onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

