They don’t write them like this anymore

Hi everyone,

My favorite editor just sent me a book that was published in 1937. It’s called FOUR AND TWENTY FAMOUS TALES, A Silent Reader. It was written by Anna Clark Nelson and published by Hall & McCreary Company in Chicago. Following the introduction and procedure are twenty-four short fables, a spelling list, and a brief test for each tale.

I read every word and marveled at how education has changed over the last eighty years. I’ll quote an example from the procedure. “As a chart to show improvement in comprehension is an incentive to more careful reading, it is suggested that the name of each pupil be written on the blackboard in a column, after which, in vertical spaces, may be recorded the correct number of answers of each pupil each day.”

I recognize some of the tales: “The Boy Who Cried Wolf,” “The Lion and the Mouse,” “The Pied Piper of Hamelin,” etc. Many others were new to me although they followed a traditional formula. I have vowed to keep this book on my desk where I can see it and smile. I’m most grateful.

12 comments on “They don’t write them like this anymore

    • There is a lot to learn from old books. In today’s society we tend to assume that because something was written fifty years ago it can’t possibly have anything to offer.

  1. I have a few like this, too. I love the tales, but not so much the other. I grew up in school reading books whose covers were colors, hence “The Emerald Reader” etc. I wish I had one now to see if we answered questions at the end of each. I suspect we did, on notebook paper, “very” neatly! Thanks for sharing, Cavid.

    • Linda, do you ever wonder if the founders of our nation would have been any smarter if they had graduated from one of today’s enormous, high-tech schools? I do.

      • They may have been more widely knowledgeable, but most were well read. There is so much more going on today for students, and more time is taken by tech. Just imagine all those hours we had to read and draw. A mix of both might be one answer.

      • Very true. Today we have to stay in touch. Back then they stayed in touch with the masters. They read their work and thought about it and came to their own conclusions. There was no such phrase as “research driven.” Excuse me while I vent. I just don’t feel good about all the changes.

  2. I would love a copy. I’m with you…some of the “changes” do nothing but confuse students (and teachers).

Leave a Reply

