Sometimes the words fight back

Hi everyone,

I want to make a correction to yesterday’s post. My article, “For the Fun of It,” appeared in the Fall 2016 issue of Missouri Reader. I knew that but worded the note poorly. My apologies to co-editors Sam Bommarito and Glenda Nugent. For anyone interested, you can click on this link to find that whole issue. https://joom.ag/SMZQ The current issue is also online and can be viewed here. https://joom.ag/q9OQ

I hope today I’ll finally stop fretting over the poem I started on Monday. It’s the first of the new collection I mentioned and it just will not surrender. For one thing I’m working in free verse, which I find harder than verse. It took one day to research the poem but that was also my birthday and I spent much of the time reading good wishes and responding to them. The second day I mostly stared at my notes, trying to find the poem hidden somewhere among them.

Day three I finally got a draft going but it was rough and clumsy. I kept coming back to the same few lines and tweaking them over and over. By the end of the day I knew I’d made improvements but it was hard to prove it.

Yesterday I finally shaped the verses into a logical form with a sense of sequence and balance, but it still had a long way to go.

So here I am on day five. I am beginning to forgive this stubborn child of my mind but that could change if it resists me for another day. I’ll let you know how it goes.

