Sometimes the words fight back

Hi everyone,

I want to make a correction to yesterday’s post. My article, “For the Fun of It,” appeared in the Fall 2016 issue of Missouri Reader. I knew that but worded the note poorly. My apologies to co-editors Sam Bommarito and Glenda Nugent. For anyone interested, you can click on this link to find that whole issue. https://joom.ag/SMZQ The current issue is also online and can be viewed here. https://joom.ag/q9OQ

I hope today I’ll finally stop fretting over the poem I started on Monday. It’s the first of the new collection I mentioned and it just will not surrender. For one thing I’m working in free verse, which I find harder than verse. It took one day to research the poem but that was also my birthday and I spent much of the time reading good wishes and responding to them. The second day I mostly stared at my notes, trying to find the poem hidden somewhere among them.

Day three I finally got a draft going but it was rough and clumsy. I kept coming back to the same few lines and tweaking them over and over. By the end of the day I knew I’d made improvements but it was hard to prove it.

Yesterday I finally shaped the verses into a logical form with a sense of sequence and balance, but it still had a long way to go.

So here I am on day five. I am beginning to forgive this stubborn child of my mind but that could change if it resists me for another day. I’ll let you know how it goes.

14 comments on “Sometimes the words fight back

  1. David, does the poem have to be free verse? Perhaps one of the syllabraic forms would be more fun. If nothing else you could always try to write the poem as a haiku, senyru or tanka.

    • Joy, I’m not required to write this poem in free verse. I’ve been working in verse lately and wanted a break from it. I haven’t decided yet if I’ll do the whole book this way. At the moment I’m leaning toward it.

  2. Thanks for the mention, thanks for the GREAT article, and thanks for your support of Missouri Reader over the years! Dr. Sam Bommarito, Co-Editor of the Missouri Reader

    • Good morning, Sam! Thank you for coming by today. I’m always honored to contribute to Missouri Reader or speak at Missouri Reading conferences.

  3. Glad to hear you are “gaining on this stubborn little sucker!” It’s just a matter of time until your ready to share it. You are once again teaching my kidos that great writers revise all the time. It is a valuable lesson for all writers. Sam

    • Ha ha, Mary Nida! I can do better than that. Our wonderful neighbor baked a chocolate pie for my birthday and brought it over with a pint of ice cream to go on it. It’s so good my eyes roll up. I’ll have another piece of pie and ice cream and then look out poem!!

Leave a Reply

