Spring is itching Goose Lake

Hi everyone,

It’s time for love around Goose Lake, or dating at least. Lately I’ve observed couples of ducks and geese strolling around yards, slyly checking out cozy nesting spots in window boxes and behind hedges. Down on the water, male Canadians are fussing over territory.

Early blooming trees such as plum and Bradford pear are showing off their finery in spite of temperatures that have vacillated from low twenties to high seventies over the past few weeks. Weeds are among us of course. And yesterday I finally spotted the first dandelions.

A handful of robins that overwintered here rather than spend the energy migrating are hopping around with more positive attitudes these days. Surely the worms will soon shake off their winter torpor and come out to give a hungry bird a fighting chance. Any day now I look for the return of the migrating robins from somewhere south, probably Florida, full of berries and looking for love.

By the way. I DID finish the poem yesterday afternoon. Or at least I think I did. I’ll come back to it today and will probably pick at it some but, Jane, I’m about ready to abandon it.