Girls from my past

Hi everyone,

I haven’t tackled my Word of the Month poem yet but here’s one from the past. It was published in CONNECTING DOTS, (Boyds Mills, 2004).

I’m 13. Suddenly we’re talking about girls. I know some kids who have gone on dates. We have more questions than answers.


GIRLS

Something happened over summer —
girls are looking different now.
Hard to say exactly how,
but other guys have noticed too.
Seems like all we ever do
is sneak a look at girls.

Makeup maybe? Clothes? Perfume?
How they walk across the room?
Can’t explain, I only know
(haven’t told another soul)
I think I’m liking girls.

11 comments on “Girls from my past

    • Janine, in the end I finally married a girl. It’s worked out just fine so far. But I still have questions.

      • And I a boy, which has worked quite well .
        Here is my WOM poem:

        Here she sprawls in my lap, forcing her lanky legs to drape over the chair’s arm;
        her long torso bent to conform to the space within my own, and her stretch of arms wrap around my shoulders as she utters the words we pray every night.
        Here she sprawls in my lap, trying to be my baby still.
        Silly girl – she should know she always will!

        Janine Clark-Barry 2017

      • HA! And yet, you married a girl w/ all the answers. Ain’t life a deal?
        Okay, here’s my whack at your challenge, Ducky:

        Once They Were Girls

        My dad stood there,
        Gazing in wonder
        At the body in its narrow bed,
        Satin-lined.
        Pretty wrinkled and worn it was,
        After eighty-one years of life,
        A life full of wifing, mothering,
        And typing, too.
        “Once,” said my young-then old man,
        “She was a brown-haired girl,
        Running barefoot for the fun of it,
        Down a summer-dusty road.”

        Has me thinking now
        Of all those icons –
        Iconettes?
        Paraded before our eyes,
        Those photos black & white,
        Every month of March
        To remind us to remember
        The History of Women.
        Gaunt, bespectacled Susan B.
        And plump Mrs. Stanton,
        Finally injustice- and fat-free.
        Smooth-faced Bessie Coleman,
        Grounded, gone, up home to heaven.
        Cleopatra. Empress Theodora.
        All the usual suspects
        All had been fleet, giggly,
        And brave. Hands aloft
        For their daddies to pick them up
        Once they were girls.

      • Beautiful, Janine. Boys just get bigger. Girls change shape as well as size and love that groove of half-girl/half-woman. And don’t we all!

      • And hi back, my ducky-ette!

        I love this a bunch, make it a whole bunch, especially those last four heart-grabber lines. I love the image of Cleopatra as a little girl, hands high for her daddy to pick up.

  1. thanks, Ducks, but I reckon we both see that the final line ought to have been ‘When they were girls.’ live & learn, huh? if we’re lucky + got our eyes & ears open

Leave a Reply

